RSS Feed

Mystery Man: Fluff Chance

Posted on

I don’t claim to understand the economics of the fashion industry and its retailers. I tend to par down the fashion shows to one or two designers for closer scrutiny.

Oh, I keep trying to educate myself and part of that education is to read, read, read. I read books and blogs, and steer clear of fashion magazines for the most part, angered by the amount of much fluff. I’m not a consumer, I am a home sewer with a passion for fashion but not a lot of expertise on the industry.

I want pithy business: how do they survive and create? That’s my inquiry.

One of the blogs I’ve been reading with increasing intrigue is The Emperor’s Old Clothes. Who is this man? Something in the writing style made me think of this writer as a man but I really could find no real proof for that assumption. So I read on.

Fluff with Text even smaller

He’s shutting down his business after many years with obvious angst and some bitterness, yet with an almost lyrical acceptance, a sign of a lovely gentle soul. But his writing style had the bite of a vampire. Who is this Fluff Chance, the writer with the wit to tell it like he sees it?

Well, mystery solved by Eric Wilson’s article in the fashion section of the New York Times this morning: How Do You Like Me Now?

Meet Mr Eric Gaskins, mystery man.

30emperor-500

Do yourself a favor: read the NY Times article and then bookmark The Emperor’s Old Clothes and savor its thoughtful articles. There’s much to be learned in it.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. I’m going there right now :) Thank you.

    Reply
  2. I read the NYTimes article and thought that so much of what he writes is true. Just like the music business is more business than creative so is the fashion industry. I can only imagine what he will write now that he has more time!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

