RSS Feed

McCalls 6244 (it’s a good one)

Posted on

I couldn’t resist this pattern when I thought of putting together my gray fabric collection for New Year’s Eve

M6244 M6244line

I wore it with lace leggings over black leggings for our at home midnight celebration

100_0021

but I feel more comfortable in slim cut stretch woven wool pants.

100_0026 100_0029

The sewing is simple, easy and quick. Most seams are serged and hems are serged, turned and cover stitched.

The only thing that I think is a Must Do is to properly miter the corners of view B, sleeveless tank with an angled hem. That keeps the point nice and flat. My version is made from ribbed slightly sparkly poly.

The lace over top (view A) is simply cut on the seam lines with no finish. The shoulder and side seams were zigzagged with a slight overlap.

100_0032

OK, I couldn’t figure out why the photos of the lace top came out a bit dull and found that I had modeled it inside out. Ah-hahahahaha.

100_0033

Here comes Martini, always The Slinker. She won’t go out into the fields without me but she likes me to keep my distance. Like, I’m not really “protecting” her. Those animals!

100_0035

She made the open crossing safely and nobody saw her, right? hehehehehe

100_0036

The vest is made from a poly woven that looks like a ribbed knit but isn’t. I think I bought it online from Elliot Berman Textiles over a year ago and it’s really unusual. I was nervous about how the hand of the fabric would hang but was very pleased with how easily it sewed up. The ribs run cross grain so this vest was cut using only 1.25 yds.

I think this vest is a very cool design.

100_0040

The long sleeved top is rayon lycra. Who doesn’t need an extra layer piece?

100_0037

I like this style. It’s very different my from previous business lifestyle. I like the lace top floating over a sparkly tank and nipped by a floaty long vest. It hides all the right things and makes me comfortable about my body even on “fat” days. I can hardly wait to try out a bright colors under the lace floater.

I’ll use this pattern a lot and I do recommend it. I cut a medium, adding up to 2″ in the circumference in the hip areas just for a more “free and easy” vibe. There’s more photos at the Flikr set “McCalls 6244

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

15 responses »

  1. In case you missed previous: you are looking good. xo

    Reply
  2. You always look so classy and chic in the flowy, arty kind of garment! Love this outfit on you.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  3. MB..I just LOVE this! You look great.
    I bought this same pattern to make an outfit for my young 26-yr old friend Jill..and was just going to cut the x-small and toss the other sizes….BUT, after seeing how flattering this is for women ‘our’ age…I’ll trace it!

    Reply
  4. Nice outfit. You look great.

    Reply
  5. You look awesome! I love your hair style and you just look really good :)

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  6. That’s a great looking outfit. Love the grays. I like it with the leggins and with the slacks, as well.

    Reply
  7. summersetbanks

    MaryBeth – you are beautiful! This suits you so well, and I’m sure you’ll get a lot of different looks out of all the pieces layered with other things in your wardrobe.

    Reply
  8. Love this! You look so beautiful. Martini is a crackup coming up behind you like that.

    Reply
  9. Oh! VERY cute and very fun. That’s a great ensemble.

    Reply
  10. I love this style too and you look awesome in this outfit!

    Reply
  11. Ha ah !!! I kwow you would make someting wonderful with that pattern. Great look! I love that style for you. Your selection of fabric is equisite ! Bravo Madame !

    Reply
  12. Mary, your hair cut in so great also !

    Reply
  13. MB, you’re reinventing yourself! I like this departure from your tailored, business wear.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Layering Pieces for Travel « The Stitchery

  15. MB you look incredibly happy in these pics. Glad to see that!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

