RSS Feed

Climbing Up and Out

Posted on

I was so happy to be back to blogging and sewing with hope to bring in the new year, in a new mode. It was good to be back and so warmly welcomed. Thank you all so much.

And then…silence at The Stitchery. I fell under the weather with whatever is going around this year. All I have accomplished since my last post is to hack, cough, and beg for sleep. Yes, I know you’ve heard this from many other people. We’ll get through this. Soon, I hope. Sleeping in the sun looks so good right now.

Martini in the Sun

Simultaneously with my weakness, our kitty finally succumbed to kidney failure, a condition she has had since we met her in 1997. Dec 29, Martini left us after 15+ years when I made the decision to have her put to sleep. I feel like she was ready and wanted to go.

Here she is in sunnier days. She loved her garden!

Cat Door, Garden & Birdbath

We think she was close to 17 years old. She came to us as a 1.5 yr old dumpster rescue cat who had a family at one point in her life but something terrible had happened and it was almost 7 years before she would sit on our laps and be brushed. It took that long for us to earn the right to have a little bit of acceptable contact. She was one independent cat.

Front Porch in Flower

The front garden was her domain where she hid among the flowers

Hiding among the Flowers

and walk next to the house behind the plants, earning her nickname, “Slinks”

Cruising to the Side Yard

She preferred to live outside in the summer and enjoyed having a front porch and warm house in the winter.

Martini on her porch chair

She will no longer be sitting on her stool over the heating register, looking out through her cat door.

RIP Martini

RIP sweet Martini!

No More Cat Door

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

25 responses »

  1. Our Claudia went the same way at about 15yrs. She told us it was time. She had gone downhill in a matter of a weekend. Until then she had been her normal self then she went upstairs on Friday and stayed there. i din’t think anything of it until John said she had not come to see him. I went looking for her and found her asleep on my armchair in my work room. As soon as I lifted her, I knew. She had become very thin in just 48hrs. Our vet said she wasn’t ready and that i would know when she was. I did. She meowed at me and attempted to move toward me. I lifted her, placed her on my lap and she just laid there purring. She was like that when the vet injected her, She went purring and peacefully. I am sure my cat and yours are thankful that we helped them like that. xo

    Reply
    • Oh Colin, Thanks for sharing that loving story. To avoid going into details I’ll say only that we humans try so hard to hang on to physical life to avoid feeling our own sadness at death.

      Reply
  2. Oh, I am so sorry. Losing a fur child is devastating. I hope you’re feeling better though, and have a healthy year.

    Reply
  3. I’m sorry to hear about your cat. This particular ick this year is NASTY! Take your time, rest and recover. We’ll be here. We need a healthy you!!!

    Reply
  4. I lost my 17 year old kitty just this last September under similar circumstances. It is heart-breaking. I’m very sorry for your loss.

    Reply
    • I was raised on a farm where things are always being born and dying so I’m a bit more used to dealing with death. It’s still hard because maybe we get more attached to their unequivocal love than the love we get from humans. They take you just as you are, don’t they?

      Reply
  5. What a lovely tribute! Martini had a good run and was lucky to have found you.

    Reply
    • I’d say she did, Nancy. She managed herself even with foxes and coyotes running the neighborhood, marauding attack cats and a couple of killer dogs. Well, the last “gang” attack did require an operation to sew her stomach wall back up but still, she held her own. The only fur I found on the front porch was canine. haha But she had the cat door set up just perfectly for her needs

      Reply
  6. MaryBeth, glad you are back. Having lost 2 dear elderly cats over the years and with sweet Miss Em approaching 15, I feel your loss. Glad you are feeling better.

    Reply
  7. Oh, so sad. We adopted a cat a year ago today actually. She was 2 and looks similar to your Martini. It took her awhile to trust us and now my daughter can just about do anything with her which includes carrying her around over her shoulder like a baby. I just wish she would not scratch my furniture and leave her fur everywhere. I hope you are feeling better soon too!

    Reply
  8. Double whammy for you. What a lovely tribute to your sweet kitty. She must have had a truly awful experience and was so fortunate to have found such a patient mama.

    Reply
    • Robyn, I never could figure it out. There didn’t seem to be a particular trigger for her fear but one day while in bed recovering from chemo/radiation I cuddled her and smooched-smooched on top of her head and she totally relaxed. She loved it! Someone had loved her once. I discovered that the phrase “Pretty Kitty” was also something she responded to. It took cancer to discover that. Isn’t that something???

      Reply
  9. Loosing a fur kid that you’ve had that long is truely heartbreaking. Knowing it was coming doesn’t make it any easier, as far a I’m concerned. It still hurts, a lot.

    Sometimes you wonder what makes a cat tick. Maybe there was something different in the tone of your voice when you said “Pretty Kitty” that made her respond that way.

    I do understand you loss as I’ve lost an 18yo to sudden congestive heart failure. My thoughts are with you.

    Reply
    • It is! Knowing it is coming makes it harder, maybe. I think the bonding between us came when I was so sick I was barely able to move. Maybe her first person had been sick and died? I had tried so many things so many ways, that’s the only thing I can deduce.

      Reply
  10. It’s so difficult to let the furry ones go, but when they’re suffering….at least Martini had a loving home for 15 years.
    Big hug to you!!

    Reply
    • She had, at long last, been given permission to to enter the sewing room and sleep, tucked away in a cubby, on top of my finest piece of fleece in the stash. We sewists know what that means :)

      Reply
  11. Sorry to hear about your cat, and I know that you and your cat knew it was time to go! I went through that with our chihuahuas. Also sorry to hear you are suffering with the crud. Hope you get well soon.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Linda, I am feeling better each day now. You are right: the vet technology is there that would have required me to medicate and give subcutaneous fluids at home to prolong her life had I known the signs I was seeing in the weeks prior to Christmas. For some cats this would be appropriate but I know she would not have wanted any of that.

      Reply
  12. Mary Beth,

    Our deepest sympathies on Martini’s passing. She was loved ever so much. Alas, they never last as long a we would like. Perhaps that is so we have room in our hearts and homes for new arrivals? Well, that’s what our boys tell me. were it not for the ones who went before, I know we would not have the fur babies we do now.

    Reply
    • Those new babies are right! For the moment I’ll sit quiet. Wouldn’t want to do anything rash, Martini wouldn’t approve. Of course that will give me time to TRY to get some of this freaken cat hair out of the furniture!

      Reply
  13. So sorry to hear about your loss. In my opinion, losing a pet is equivalent to losing a human member of your family. Pets are so joyful and loving, and it’s always so sad to see them go.

    On a happier note, Martini looks a lot like my cat Maggie, so perhaps her spirit can live on in another fiercely independent white cat. : )

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

