RSS Feed

MP230 McCall’s Fashion Star Pattern Review

Posted on

100_2402

In early December last year I decided to try this pattern, using my similarly stripped fabric.

M6556

I’d never done a “Fashion Star” pattern before so I flat pattern measured and chose to cut a 16, which is supposed to be bust 38, waist 30, hip 40. I was a bit worried because I was puzzled about how this thing would go together. My first alteration: I decided to make a mirrored version

M6556(1)

and secondly: shorten it 8″ to tunic length

M6556(2)

Turns out my version has no side seams. And I could have/should have cut a 12, not a 16! That would have been a better fit through the shoulders.

100_2410

Look at that big grin! Husband is home and willing to help with photos. Oh boy! No setting up and running to get into position.

100_2411

Ahhhhh, my own photographer, now this is the way to do pattern review blogging

100_2412

Conclusion: I think it’s a strange looking and interesting caftan. My version is OK for quick trips outside around the house but not anything I’d like to wear out into the wider world. This fabric in this cut is overwhelming for my size and height. I love the drape you get with the tucks at the sides, that’s a design detail might be worth playing with in a suitable fabric next summer.

And so I put this pattern aside for the season.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. I really like it and I think it looks nice on you. Yes it could be smaller, but I didn’t notice that until you pointed it out. Sure you could wear that out into the wider world…it’s perfect!!!

    Reply
  2. I think we should go out together.

    Reply
  3. That is one of those artsy type garments that will capture attention. I think it’s fabulous. Wear it everywhere. You look very chic in it. Watch out for paparazzi!

    Reply
  4. I really like it – it is unconventional and not brash. Like you, I am short and worry about baggy tunics but I think it looks really cool! I would definitely wear something like this. Now you have to make a cape coat to wear over it when you go out.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Trish. A cape coat is a good idea for this style. However balanced against my need for daily wearables in the wardrobe, I probably will just choose to layer this piece over a wool jersey turtleneck and fleece lined leggings

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

