RSS Feed

Advance 4236: Sister-Wife Lounging

Posted on

I have permanent press fabric I bought to make shirts for my husband but then found better fabric so with yardage sitting on the shelf and hot weather nightgowns and bed jackets on the mind I paired some cornflower blue cotton with a 1946 Advance pattern

I call it my Sister-Wife creation.

Believe me, it was worse before I adding shaping to the bed jacket. And now I remember why I don’t like permanent press: it doesn’t press well, has zero drape and it stains quite easily.

I don’t believe many more words are necessary:

Envelope front

Envelop back

Instructions

Pattern piece-No seam lines, holes for marking

Gown Back Gown Front

I elongated the top stitched darts at the shoulder by 1.25″ and 1.5″, nipped the side seams at the waist, and added released darts below the bust. That actually helped remove some of the boxy, cover up and look sexless aspects of the shape.
Bed Jacket

side Front

Gaely got a haircut but I didn’t
Gaely got a haircut but I didn't

And for those that don’t let the prudishness of my new Sister-Wife lounging ensemble keep them far away, I’ve got a surprise:

Hello!

hehehehehe

PS: my honey needs to get new glasses.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

17 responses »

  1. Mary Beth, this whole post made me smile, but especially the buttons! So cute. I think this ensemble would be totally cute in a silk or rayon.

    Reply
  2. Well, hey, if it serves the purpose…comfy lounging…you used stash! Tested a pattern! Woot! Darling buttons! Double Woot! And how many search engine hits do you suppose ‘Sister Wife’ is going to generate? *onery face* ;-) BTW, You and Gaely both have fabulous ‘dos.

    Reply
    • It is very comfortable, completely from the stash (even the totally scratchy but free lace) and it is also beyond Modest. This is modesty gone awry!

      Reply
    • Oh, I am getting the usual searches: Marfy, how to make a button placket, how to make a bed jacket, free bed jacket patterns, how to sew a man’s shirt, how to sew a dog bed, etc. Pretty boring so far. *onery face*, not quite yet. LOL

      Reply
  3. Hahahahaaaa “sister-wife” hahahahahaaa
    sweetheart friend….you always look lovely, that blue looks great on you!

    Reply
  4. The model on the right is saying “Oh, I have such a headache. Not tonight dear”

    Reply
  5. Such a cute post – love the buttons!!!

    Reply
  6. Sister Wife nightie ensemble is darling. Love the un-prudish buttons. And that hair! You know I covet your hair!

    Reply
    • The Sister Wife works well for the purpose and I’m finally getting used to the hair comments. Told you all about my inordinate shyness about the hair so maybe I’m finally getting over the South’s segregation issues? Maybe.

      Reply
  7. Hmmm! Now in see-through lace next? The pattern is a lovely old throw-back, perhaps to the days before central heating? But if it’s comfy and beautifully made as always, it’s a good experiment. Liked the sister-wife, and of course the come-hithery buttons.

    Reply
    • O-oooo, Trish, your idea is naughty but nice. I might have a drapy polyester stretch lace in the stash. But honestly? It would be too hot to wear. Right now it’s over 80F at 10 am, and looks like its going to rain.

      Reply
      • We have the rain but at more like 60 F. Still waiting for summer! Glad you like the idea, maybe for Autumn? I was going to make some summer blouses but I’m still in cardigans. It’s very depressing.

        Reply
  8. The darts were a major improvement, you clever girl. I love your hair!! It looks very Veronica Lake ;)

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

