RSS Feed

Vogue 8915

Posted on

Quick post today. I have been sewing, or was before I needed to make a quick business trip this week. This is a study of results from sewing V8915.

This is a very heavy tencel pant in Extra Extra Large, nice and flowing but a bit overly large wouldn’t you say?

XXLPurpFront

This is a linen pant done in XL and linen top in Large, extended out to XL at the hips.

XL pants, top is Large, to XL at hipsBack

Front

This is a very lightweight rayon in Large with the hipline curve removed. Sorry for the blurry pix, and the garden dirt. These pants have been worn quite a bit already.

BlFrontLarge

I cut the back piece at XL to keep the pant full

BlBack

On all the pants I pegged the lower leg and hem down to the Large cutting line.

The top is much roomier than I want through the shoulders so next trial will be a medium. I bought the pattern in both size offerings. Off to the sewing room!

ADDED 7/29 Here’s the pattern illustration and line drawings. The hem for the XXL is 17″ on the pattern. I narrowed them all to 15″
V8915Ill
V8915

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. Looks like you’ve been sewing up a storm. The pants look comfy and roomy. I’m looking forward to seeing the new top.

    Reply
  2. I love the linen and the plain blue pants and the top looks great too. Very flowey and cool for summer. I think the top pants look a bit too roomy, though the photo is a bit blurry (and so are my eyes today). Were the patterns originally wide leg? I love the pegged legs. Did you just narrow from the knee down. I ask because I have a great pnts pattern that i have made a couple of times. Fits beautifully but has wide legs and I would like a bit of variation. Keep up with all the sewing. Hope your summer is going well. Regards, Trish

    Reply
    • Hey, Trish, I forgot to upload the pattern illustration and line drawings. I’ll do that right now into the post so you can see the details. It is not a wide legged pant.

      Reply
      • Thanks for the line drawings, Mary Beth. I don’t think it would suit my pattern, but I have another as yet unused one it might. Interesting about the hip fitting too. Thanks for all the tips. Definitely you don’t want tight lounging pants, so they feel good, but hopefully look good too. The shorter top looks interesting as well. Thanks again.

        Reply
  3. What a great collection of casual but pretty “work” clothes. I like them all and the middle pair of linen pants are my fave. The first pair of pants look a little too wide in the hip-did you take those in below the knee? I have a devil of a time fitting loose pants because I am short. I end up messing with the proportions too much. Have fun sewing!!

    Reply
    • Hey, Mary, yes they are too wide at the hip for fashionable wear but for bumming around, hanging out, eating bonbons and weeding like a mad woman, they’ll do. I finally wised up and removed the hip curve in the blue Large pant by using a ruler to go straight down from the waist to the high thigh.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: B5215 Connie Crawford 3 Basic Tees | The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

