RSS Feed

Putting Pieces Together

Posted on

Mingling the old with the new
100_3950
I’m wearing the lace top and silvery gray tee from McCall’s 6244, made in Dec 2010, and rayon pants purchased in the early 90’s. I have to admit I am so comfortable in baggier pants and higher necklines these days, I am intentionally cutting loose pants and wearing tops backwards :)
M6244McCall's 6244
I have shamelessly washed and dried the lace in the machines and wear it without worrying about the fraying edges or ironing it. I like the “distressed” look and find myself wearing it often.
100_3941100_3939100_3945

I now wear that lace top backwards because the front hem area was cut too high to suit me. The neck is higher and I’m liking necklines that are higher these days.

New clothes from Summer 2013

The silver gray tee can be worn by itself over the bright colored pants I made this summer. I like it loosely tucked in the top of the new yellow pants best.

100_3920100_3922
100_3926100_3925
The yellow pants are exactly the same cut as the green pants but the difference is in the fabric. The green is a very soft hand, silk twill, the yellow is a harder silk twill and even though the weight of the two fabrics seems to be the same the fit and flow are quite different
Green and olive
Here is the green pant with the Dutch Wax print and I think the match is much better than the olive branch print. There is some of the same green in the olive print but it isn’t seen in the wearing
100_3896100_3899
Because of the cut on sleeve these tops tend to ride up if the belt is not worn
100_3900100_3901

McCalls 6753
I made the dress, View D,
M6753View D
in silk charmeuse. I wore it over the green pants for dinners out to celebrate our birthdays earlier this month. It works over the yellow pants as well
100_3909100_3916
I am tempted to shortened it but at this length I can also wear it as a dress (beware: blindingly pale skin alert!)
100_3930100_3931
The sides of this tunic are closed only to the hip so a very long tee is absolutely necessary
100_3932
and it is cut very low in the neckline. I know that it is generally acceptable to show a bit of decolletage but this is too much!
100_3936
So when wearing this tunic out I am more comfortable wearing the silver gray tee backwards as I did in the photos of it with the yellow pants.
Gray top backwards

Well, I think I’ve caught up with all the sewing done in the past few weeks. I’m happy that so many pieces can be interchanged.

More Later
Happy Sewing!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

18 responses »

  1. I love the yellow pants and the outfits you have created with it. That silk top is wonderful. I like the lounge look without the pants ;-) Very sexy! DH must love it.

    Reply
  2. How nice to see how it all works together. Good job!

    Reply
  3. I love that green charmeuse animal print! I bet you feel absolutely divine wearing that lovely tunic!!

    Reply
  4. I’m really loving this wearing tops back to front. I like the versatility.

    And I extra-love your hair! When mine goes all gray, I intend to wear it just like yours. Although maybe not quite so long. My curls start dreding if they’re too much past my shoulders :-)

    Reply
    • Mine, too, Imogheena. But, there’s hope! I have recently learned to put coconut oil in my hands and wrap strands into curls, instead of trying to comb them out. Much less breakage. I just did a hair shoot for you, I’ll post it in a little while. It changes the color of the hair until it’s washed out tho. I can live with that :)

      Reply
  5. What a wonderful review of what you have sewn and how to style different pieces together. Of all these gorgeous outfits, I love your look in the long tunic and pants. It just flows, along with those silver locks.

    Reply
  6. I absolutely love that gray lace top! You make me really want to make one myself! You enable so, I just may have to hit the fabric store at lunch… I like the color. I have avoided a lace top because so many of them look too bedroom, but the grey works.
    You totally rock the yellow pants too, I love bright colors.

    Reply
    • Becki, that lace is an Anna Sui corded guipure offered by Emma One Sock maybe 10 years ago. It’s horrible that I treat it this way! Google guipure lace, I found some beauties out there online. O-ooooo

      Reply
  7. You’ve been very busy.
    My favourite pieces are the yellow pants and the long animal print tunic.
    Thanks for suggesting an embelishment in the back of my dress, you got an excellent eye and your suggestions are always welcome.

    Reply
  8. Nice post. I think mingling the old with the new is a great way to maximize your wardrobe. Here you have certainly crafted some nice pieces. I really like the lace and green tops and the tunic is lovely. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  9. Love the silver top with the yellow pants. makes you look about 25 years old!!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: B5215 Connie Crawford 3 Basic Tees | The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

