RSS Feed

Vogue 8504 The Vogue Woman

Posted on

This is the only pattern left in Vogue’s catalog of designs specifically for women of a certain age.

100_3964

I made it 3 years ago but never reviewed it. It is an orphan no longer since the shockingly yellow pants have joined the wardrobe. It never really worked well with jeans.

V8504 linedrawingV8504

The vogue Woman category, if I remember correctly, was drafted to accommodate a forward neck/high rounded back posture. Vogue has discontinued all the other patterns in that category now but this one. It’s still available.

I have only made this one top, but I like the style and I think I’ll find tee and pant fabrics to test the rest of the pattern. I was lighter when I made this top.

I cut a 12 through the shoulders, arms and neckline flaring out to fit my measurements at the waist and hip. This pattern could be cut at a larger size for a more flowing topper.

back

I used a metallic embroidered sari fabric from Kashi. I’ve washed it on delicate and dried it in the dryer. Not too bad a result, I’d say. The sleeves are cut on and thus two pieces. The neckline is bound with silk organza, and constructed the same as the green silk animal print tunic of a few days ago

100_3936 (2)

The binding is cut in the shape of the neckline, sewn on the outside and turned and top stitched. Easy!

It’s amazing what a few new pieces can do to the wardrobe.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. Oh wow! Stunning. Love it with the yellow pants, surprisingly.
    I can’t believe that’s been machine washed and dried, it looks so delicate. Love the colors on you.

    Reply
  2. Oh I LOVE this pattern. I have a thing against waistbands so love pants and skirts with a facing. This is a pattern where I would actually make and wear everything in it. I might shorten the top a little for me (high hip), but it is just fabulous, and gorgeous in the sari fabric.

    Reply
  3. Totally looks good with the yellow pants! I like that asymmetric neckline. I’ve never liked asymmetric anything before but the concept continues to grow on me as I cast off perfectionist tendencies :)

    Reply
  4. Looks lovely, pants are fabulous on you. It’s a pity that Vogue no longer has the Vogue Woman category, I agree. There are a lot of us…

    Reply
  5. Wonderful Top. This fabric is exclusive. J’adore !!!

    Reply
  6. The top is gorgeous.. the love the fabric.

    Reply
  7. Oddly enough I had been looking at this pattern in the vogue catalogue and wondering how it would look on a normal woman, ie not 6ft. You have answered my question. It looks great! And it really suits your yellow trousers. What a lovely combination.

    Reply
  8. This is fantastic on you! I used only the tank from this pattern, which BTW is wonderful.

    Reply
  9. This is soooooo pretty! I love the fabric you chose for this!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

