RSS Feed

B5215 Connie Crawford 3 Basic Tees

I’m working on pulling together pieces from the past few years and sewing up short cuts of fabric I’ve not had the time to sew for the past (mumble mumble) number of years due to commercial sewing, business or garden work and taking time to get over cancer, as well.

This year the garden did not fare well with all the rain and cool temps so I’m sewing up what I have intended to sew for the past 10+ years. The heck with food, we’re just going to have to plan on going to the store this winter.

Using B5215

B5215

I’ve made view A in a stretchy rayon lycra, on the shelf for so long I don’t remember any details

Fern Leaf Top
Fern Leaf Back

and view B in a cotton sateen with lycra from Michaels Fabrics many years ago.

Sateen Top

Sateen side

I cut each of these at the XL size and then had to take really small seam allowances. I don’t buy clothes so I have no idea what size I’d buy and Connie’s sizing is different from the regular Butterick sizing. Did I take my own measurements and measure the flat pattern? Why, no, I didn’t. I have no clue why I didn’t. I went from the measurement sizing on the pattern and expected more ease. But she’s a technically correct one, that Connie Crawford is and that’s exactly why I wanted to use her patterns.

Surprise! My fabric choices are not regular tee shirt fabrics. Oh well, I made it work.

On each tee I lowered the neckline by 3/4″ and took a 3/8″ seam in the neck binding. I made View B without any other modifications to the pattern. On View A I shortened the shoulder length by 1/2″.

So, now for version C, with all the ease of a “regular tee shirt”, I have no idea how it will fit. I have some cute but “questionable” fabric to use and I’ll cut the same XL and lower the neckline and shorten the shoulder length by the same 3/4″ and 1/2″ respectively and we’ll just have to see what comes of that.

I like how these two pieces have paired up with other items so far.

Aqua Fern Top with McCalls 6247 made 2 years ago

Aqua Top

Sateen Top with linen pants, both just made this week. The pants pattern as it has evolved from Vogue 8915 first cut in July

Cotton Sateen Top (B5215) and Linen Pant (V8915)

The Olive Top made from Vogue 8915 looks great with the new light green linen pants

Olive Top and Spring Green Linen Pant

The Vogue 1364 Warm Weather Jacket made in August works with them both

Olive Coat, Top and Pants

Back to the cutting table for version C and I have another linen pant to stitch up from the evolved slouchy pants pattern.

I have plans for a safari style short sleeved jacket in linen and an Issy Miyaki tunic in dupioni planned beyond that.

I love it when a such a long term plan comes together!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

11 responses »

  1. I keep looking at your pictures and marveling at your hair! I know I’m suppose to talk about your garments (which are very nice btw) but I keep coming back to that marvelous head of hair! It’s beautiful!!!

    Reply
  2. Your hair is gorgeous, MB, but I keep coming back to see how nicely your garments play together. The way you combine prints so beautifully is like magic.

    Reply
  3. I especially love the aqua fern top on you. I really like the length of the sleeve. And, of course, I can’t help but admire your glorious tresses!

    Reply
  4. The fern top shows off your shape beautifully, make more ;-)

    Reply
    • OK, Lisette, I will. I have so many 1+ yards of knits and trying to find patterns to use the yardage is tough.

      So now when I order from a vendor who only cuts a full yard, I am NOT upset. I know some fabric might be wasted but it’s better than sitting on a shelf waiting for a pattern that will work!

      Reply
  5. Mary Beth, you keep choosing such complimentary colors for the garments you make. And your hair looks lovely, especially in the second version of this top. I see that you lowered the neckline; were you surprised at how close to your neck it would have been? The pattern drawing makes it look a bit lower than it is, I think.

    Reply
    • Yes, I recommend lowering the neckline on all the versions, Sandra. And the neckline bands are too long in every case as well but that will depend on the fabric that is used. Nice pattern to have in the stash and perfected, though.

      Reply
  6. Thank you Mary Beth for all the great advice! I LOVE the fern print such great colors for any time of year, but the fit is what really draws me in!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

