RSS Feed

M4392 McCalls Sew News Coordinates

Front

Back

Full Length Front

This pattern has skirt, pant,top with side slits sleeves and with sleeves, and jacket in a casual style for wovens. I made the sleeveless top in linen.

M4392 OOP

The pants are again Vogue 8915, shown here over and over for the past 7 weeks.

I lengthened the top by 2″, and increased the depth of the neckline facings to allow for 1 3/8″ deep topstitching instead of the 1″ called for in the pattern.

I cut a 12 through the neckline, 14 for the armscye and 16 through the bust angling out to 18+ for the waist and hipline. I made no other changes.

If I make this again, I need to lower the bust darts and perhaps cut more room through the bust. My weight changes all the time and I am sewing for linen that comes from the dryer without benefit of an iron. This means it will relax and stretch with body warmth and movement. I’ll write these alteration notations on the front of the envelope so I should see it if I make this top again and haven’t dropped in weight.

I like this pattern esp since I lowered the hemline. The armscye is snug but not too tight. Good pattern for me.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

25 responses »

  1. You look adorable in this. Love the fit, color and the outfit! ❤

    Reply
  2. Mary Beth, I am astounded at your sewing output the past few weeks, and the quality is so high. I love your most recent outfit. I am having a bit of a love affair with linen myself the past few months. The colours really suit you and the linen crinkles beautifully. Congrats again. I really like the neckline btw, it is much better with the lower topstitching. I should definitely make this again, in another colour. It looks a really good going out (in comfort) option.

    Reply
    • Trish, I went to Pattern Review to see if you had reviewed this pattern, but didn’t find anything I could ID as yours. Too bad you are not blogging your garments too, I could go see what you’re up to!

      Reply
  3. Love that color and the fit!

    Reply
  4. Lovely outfit and the color looks great on you.

    Reply
  5. You look so great in this outfit – the colous suits you well, so summer and sunny! And the pants are great. I have to pick up my pants prject again.

    Reply
  6. Great looking top and pants, especially nice with your hair and skin color.
    As I am looking at your pattern, am thinking I might take a look at it for me, Did you include the side slits? I also kinda’ like the looks of the jacket…..for a’ knock about’ that would work for my climate. I don’t think I have bought a Big 4 pattern for 2-3 years, that is except for a couple of Marcy’s Vogue pants.

    Reply
    • Joan, it is a lovely classic. You can buy this pattern at pattern review or on ebay or etsy, I think, because it is now oop.

      The side slits are part of the pattern, and I love them. I’m thinking you’ll like to make the same changes I did to add depth to the facing and hem. I have not made anything else from this pattern, I was chased off by the sleeves because the fore and back slopes on the sleeves are the same. Easy to fix but not for a pattern test the first time ’round.

      Reply
    • Thanks, for the heads up about the sleeve. I usually need to address sleeves since I have a low right shoulder and the left one is forward……scoliosis……aging,… ugh.!

      Reply
  7. The color really is perfect, gorgeous! Linen is so wonderful to wear. Its good to see that you aren’t giving in to the season and sewing for fall, there is so much summer left! Side slits make it so comfy and so wearable.

    Reply
  8. You look fabulous, Mary Beth, in your new outfit. And you know I admire that gorgeous mane of hair. :D

    Reply
  9. You look amazing! Love your outfit and that colour suits you so beautifully!

    Reply
  10. Wow! That looks fabulous on you!

    Reply
  11. Lovely colour on you, perfect!

    Reply
  12. leanmeansewingmachine

    The hair, the outfit, the color…gorgeous!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

