RSS Feed

Salute to Gwen

Gwen was the first person to push me to love my hair as much as she did.  She always would comment upon it and I would tell her how shy and embarrassed I felt.  She never did acknowledge my negativity.  So here is my salute to her in the only way I know to say it.

Good Bye Gwen

Gwen, thank you for helping me start to accept and love and show myself.

You’ve escaped this messy jungle and left the rest of us here, so touched and made better by your heart and mind.

You've Escaped the Jungle

I grew to love you as did many others. You put me in touch with myself, a part I am still exploring and still unsure of sharing.  I’ll always miss you and now I don’t have to worry about you any more. I should be glad about that. But I can’t say Good Bye, your comments will here remain as long as this blog continues.

Missing You

Shown is a new, larger version of Vogue Woman V8504.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

16 responses »

  1. That’s a lovely tribute, MB. Gwen was such a sweet lady. Her loss is keenly felt by many of us.

    Reply
  2. She was a lovely woman wasn’t she?! And I know why she encouraged you to love your hair because it is sooooo beautiful! What a wonderful tribute to our sewing sister.

    Reply
  3. Gwen was right! – your hair is beautiful! Love that fabric!

    Reply
  4. Lovely tribute. And you are especially lovely-looking in these photos. What a wonderful V8504!

    Reply
  5. I absolutely adore your hair and I can’t imagine anyone not loving it. Gwen was so sweet, and your tribute is so fitting.
    Keep up the great work and the nurturing of your lovely locks.

    Reply
  6. Truly a beautiful tribute to a lovely lady. I swear, MB, you become more beautiful each passing year!

    Reply
  7. What a wonderful tribute. I also love your hair!

    Reply
  8. Very nice. Isn’t wonderful when someone gives us their hand and helps us to come out of our shell.

    Reply
  9. I raise my glass to your friend. We should all learn to love who we are, what we look. I llllllooooooovvvvvveeeeee your hair. You are a beautiful woman Mary Beth! <3

    Reply
  10. I did not know Gwen, but it is most obvious I would have loved her if you did. Mary Beth, I think your picture should be among the best on Pinterest. Your gray hair is gorgeous, and is just a matched set that goes with you!!! SMOOCH!

    Reply
  11. Such a wonderful tribute to your friend.

    Reply
  12. That is a lovely tribute to Gwen, Mary Beth. She was very special and will be greatly missed.

    Reply
  13. A wonderful tribute. She will be missed by many and certainly by me too.

    You look wonderful, don’t worry about the hair, it’s gorgeous as Gwen has always seen.

    Reply
  14. I am sorry to hear you lost your friend – that’s a lovely tribute to her
    And she has right – you and your hear look fabulous!

    Reply
  15. This is a very touching tribute to Gwen. I too will miss reading her posts.
    She was a such a nice lady.
    Gwen was right in telling you to love that hair….some days it may cause you issues but it is amAzing :)

    Reply
  16. What a beautiful tribute to Gwen!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

