RSS Feed

Vogue 1208 Quick and Easy Elegance

Back of dress

I made this dress for a one day meet-up last year. Due to bad weather the flight home that evening was cancelled and I had to stay an extra day. I had not planned on spending the night so I had to wear this for 2 whole days. Oh boy. I can go for some glamor once in a while but 2 days? That’s really pushing me to my limits.

Fabric

But I liked wearing this dress and 2 days worth was not a problem. The fabric is a finely pleated black and white polka dot polyester from GorgeousFabrics.com, and it proved to be absolutely wrinkle-proof. The fit was comfortable and I had the yellow coat I made and blogged about for the whole month of April 2009 with me. That was a great comfy coat to wear, too. And I had brought flats, Yay Me! Disaster averted.

done!

The pattern is to be laid out on the bias but I cut cross grain to take advantage of the inherent stretch of the pleats. I cut a size 12 through the bodice and flared to a 14 below the waist.

Front

I lined on the bias with black cling free poly lining which I trimmed with black lace at the hem. I cut the lining with extra width so that it could relax into place on my body. The bow at the shoulder is black and white silk chiffon as is the simple rectangle wrap I made.

V1208Line Drawing

What an easy and quick but comfy and stylish design. I really enjoyed sewing it up and wearing it. I can recommend this simple but interesting shift for many different body shapes.

We finally got some rain and the humidity and wind is poofing up my hair big time. It’s getting wider and shorter with every passing minute. I was feeling like I might go airborne a la The Flying Nun before I could finish doing this photo shoot :).

100_4210

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. Oh wow! You look marvelous in this. and those are adorable shoes….

    Reply
  2. I love your dress! It’s so great to look pretty AND be comfortable. I have thought about that pattern off and on but have not been sure it would work for me. After seeing your version, I think I will add it to my list:)

    Reply
  3. I much prefer your natural woman look. The yellow coat proves it.

    Reply
  4. Beautiful! So stylish as well, love the polka dots.
    Perfect shoes to match!

    Reply
  5. So glam. I would never have bought this pattern, but you have made me have another look. The wrap is the perfect finishing touch, and the fabric is gorgeous!

    Reply
  6. Hi Mary Beth. The dress looks great, so not too much of a hardship to wear two days. Love the polka dot chiffon. The shoes are just right too. Re the McCalls top and pants pattern, I meant to say that it suits you so well, you should make another. I have never blogged, and think you are very brave, but I have left a note on your yellow coat, on the Flickr page, and think you should be able to look at my embarassingly old photostream using that. I do a variety of crafts so I am a jack of all trades ( master of none!)

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

