RSS Feed

Cutting Table Raised

Posted on

In all my years of sewing I have never had a cutting table at a proper height for my 5’2.25″ frame. I now have a table set at 36″, right at my waist. I had to dance!

Happy Dance!

Thanks, everyone, for all your suggestions for raising a cutting table! Wonderful ideas, all. I got a few minutes with my husband and we decided to try the leg sleeves of PVC on my husband’s Mother’s old dining table if we could find the correct interior diameter of PVC.

Tonight my husband brought home eight 2.5 inch in diameter PVC pipe, cut to 25.5″ long sleeves to fit over the highly profiled table legs.

2.5" diameter PVC pipe with bolts at 6.5"

The table has two drop leaves and one insert leaf so it is very versatile for a small space. A hole was drilled through the pipe, offset so that the leg would sit on top of the bolt exactly 5.5″ from the floor.

2 Drop Leaves

Our main concern was finding PVC with the proper interior measurements that would let it slip over the legs and not grip or be sloppy. We found the 2.5″ diameter would have an interior measurement just approximately .025″ larger than the widest part of the legs themselves. Perfect! The table top is now at 36″ from the floor.

Raised from 29.5" to 36"

In this configuration the table top measures 62.5″ x 43.5″ and is covered by a mat gridded by inch to 36×56.

Old Dining Table
There’s now even more storage space under the table. Ah, so now I can finish making a certain husband’s new shirts.

This worked out just right.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. Very cool, Mary Beth! I had good luck with bed risers that I found at WalMart for less than $8 (take that Bed Bath and Beyond!). But then, I’m not as handy as your DH.

    Reply
  2. You have really raised you sewing to new heights.
    You really have a winner there. My husband could do it, piece of cake, eventually, someday, maybe, OK, stop nagging!
    Wishing you many happy sewing sessions.

    Reply
  3. Nice solution!

    Reply
    • You are indeed fortunate to have Mr. Stitchery supportive and creative to aid you in your sewing endeavors.. However, of course he would be…..he is the recipient of your talents too.

      Reply
  4. Officially jealous, what a great job. I bet it’s so much more comfortable for you now.

    Reply
  5. Great idea and for sure better for your back. I am sure the cutting will be more comfortable. More storage space underneath is dangerous :-)

    Reply
  6. I like what Beth said, “You have really raised you sewing to new heights.” LOL My DH raised my cutting table with PVC pipe several years ago, and it made a huge difference in my comfort. We do so much more of our work at the cutting table besides cutting. In fact, if I had to guess, I’d say that I spend more time standing at my cutting table than sitting at my sewing machine. Good ergonomics make a huge difference! Congrats and happy standing, cutting, and whatever else you do at that table!

    Reply
  7. Hi Mary Beth, we’re exactly the same height! I’d never have thought of your solution. Greetings from Santa Fe by the way. A most fascinating place and the Albuquerque balloons were fun too. Can’t email you though but thanks for the help. Regards Trish

    Reply
  8. I’m glad you got the table fixed!!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

