RSS Feed

Lost “It” and Beware Old Appliances

My Mojo went missing.

Shortly after the fabo table raising, our weather turned cold with a killing frost so the short sleeved shirts were no longer a priority.

So I went into the kitchen and started a daily regime of cooking. And it was wonderful! My figure doesn’t look “wonderful” but we’ve had some great meals.

And sadly my hair dryer from the late 60′s stopped working very well so I bought a new one. I use 3″ rollers on my curly hair, weekly I sit under the dryer. I was lost.

My old dryer was the Max Hatter Hairdryer by Gillette, purchased for probably $20 way back when. Max Hatter  Hairdryer by Gillette

Someone on Ebay is selling one now for $29.99 starting bid. LOL

Anyway my choices for replacement are limited because of the size of the rollers I use and I bought a Carel Soft Bonnet Ionic Hair Dryer from Sally’s Beauty Supply in town. I used it carefully for 7 weeks and would have to turn the heat down to medium or low to cool off quite frequently. But one day in mid October I fell asleep and when I awoke 1.5 hours later my hair was dry. And I was blistered.

Edited to add: The dryer was set on LOW during the nap!

burn blisters

As the day wore on more blisters appeared in my hair and even where my ear joins mi cabeza. That one is still inflamed and hurts even now.

Sorry!

So, now, 3 weeks later the scabs have finally gone and I don’t think I will have scars.

Burns

Sally’s kindly refunded the purchase price even though I had tossed the receipt and I bought a stand dryer which barely fits over the rollers but works. And the heat level is much more controllable. Because I have to sit in a chair to use it I am safer in that I won’t likely fall asleep.

Anyway, I decided to see if I could replace my beloved old hair dryer today because I miss the weekly nap in bed under that old dryer, and guess what I found? A CPSA recall report that it was discontinued in 1974 because the manufacturer had used asbestos insulation. So I’ve been blowing asbestos into my face for years. I’m not feeling too smart at the moment.

OK, I’ll stick with more current appliances!

Anyway, the result of having to deal with 2nd degree burns was that any kind of malady in my body and environment saw me as fresh meat and I had a lot of low energy and viral outbreaks. Obviously I have no immunity to speak of.

So I’ve stayed away from all humans and that means I’ve been house bound. Thank goodness I have a partner in life who can go to the grocery and pharmacy on his way home from work.

Thanks, Honey! I’m hoping to be feeling back up to speed soon.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

22 responses »

  1. Oh poor you. I do hope you are feeling much better now, and that the blisters and general malaise are on the way out. That sounds no fun at all. I know what you mean about hanging on to old appliances. I have a ton of them, not generally used, but you have given me a push to clear them out. Old isn’t always best.

    Reply
  2. So sorry, MB. Who could imagine that napping while drying your hair could have such consequences! I do hope your search for a more ‘friendly’ dryer is successful. You were wise to take the precautions while recovering to protect yourself from ‘whatever.’

    Reply
    • I am lucky I didn’t get another Shingles outbreak, Joan. The viruses have really come out to play on this one. Eeesch, like it is not even my own body, every other creature has made a claim. What individual autonomy?

      Reply
      • What is your take on the shingles vaccine? After observing a couple of my friends go through the shingles attack, I relented and got the vaccine a few months ago. One friend’s episode lasted for weeks and weeks of misery.

        Reply
        • Tell everyone you know 55 years or older, to get the vaccine! My doctor would not let me get it until 6 months after my attack and I got shingles again at month 5. I recommend it, in other words.

          Reply
  3. Oh my goodness, what a terrible thing to happen! I have two of those old hairdryers in my stash, I don’t use them because it takes me three minutes to dry my hair, but I’ve hung on to them. I must check to see whether the Australian version used asbestos – I’ll bet it did. Glad you’ve recovered and the cooking sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  4. Wow what a powerful dryer! I have a chair dryer that I saved when I sold my beauty salon. It’s great for deep conditioning/leisurely reading, and I do quite often fall asleep under as well. I know you miss yours.

    Reply
    • Oh, so glad you’ve got a good dryer, Faye! Sounds like heaven to me.

      I have yet to figure out the best height setting for this stand thing. It grabs the rollers and I’m sort of hanging by my head, LOL. Or it’s too low and I’m hunched under it.

      See, this is why God gave us Professionals and Professional Tools!

      Reply
  5. I am so sorry!! Deep condition your hair after the blisters are all gone. You probably feel terrible, and sad. A little makeup will cover any residual marks and some Vit E will help them disappear. Poor MB

    Reply
    • Thanks Mary, I will. The best thing I put on the burns was Witch Hazel and then a radiation gel left over from treatment, yet another benefit from having cancer. Naps and gels :o

      Reply
  6. Ouch! That does not sound fun! I hope you are better now … although I admire your perseverance, I curl my hair once, but I’m too lazy to do this three times a week. Happy week, darling. Take care.

    Reply
  7. Wow. I’m so sorry you got burned, and I’m really glad you didn’t get shingles. My mom had them recently … what misery! I am one of the lucky few who has never had chickenpox (proven via blood test); I got the chickenpox vaccine about 10 years ago. I’ve heard varying things about getting shingles after the vaccine. Well, I’ll cross that bridge when I age into it.

    I NEVER dry my hair. In fact, I go to bed with it wet, sometimes wrapped in a turbytwist towel, sometimes not. In the morning, I spritz it, if necessary, and/or add oil, but mostly I just comb it out and go. I find that the morning spritz gives me nice curls. But I get the best curls from sleeping with wet hair in the turbytwist.

    It’s something to consider.

    Reply
    • My curls are naturally like spirals wound around a Sharpie pen, it wouldn’t be good if I did what you do.

      We should see more pictures of your pretty hair online, Jennifer!

      Reply
  8. Yikes! I’m glad you’re on the mend. 3-inch rollers, that brings back a memory of cousins visiting from California rolling their hair in juice cans in the 60s.

    I suspect many appliances that generate heat contained asbestos at some point in their history. Yet another “miracle” of science that turned out to bit us in the behind, like they’re finding out about transfats.

    Reply
  9. Oh my…so sorry about this Mary Beth! Happy to hear all is getting better
    and I hope you find that perfect dryer!

    Reply
  10. Hi Mary Beth, Just thinking of you and wishing you the very best for this new year.

    Reply
  11. You’ve been very quiet here lately. I hope all is well…

    Reply
    • Thanks for checking up on me, Gail. I have been busy with other work this winter but shall return soon after I finish my “other” work. How could there ever be other work besides sewing/knitting? Don’t know for sure but Something is taking all my time! Hope you’re well, too!

      Reply

So, What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

