RSS Feed

Hawking Our Wares

This must be the smallest display my husband has ever packed or else the picture was taken at the end of the conference.  Why couldn’t we have picked something lightweight, like fabric, to lug across country????  These days I don’t go on all the trips with him like I used to.  I’m home and rather like a single person for much of the spring and fall whilst he is gone attending from 10 to 20 educational conferences each year.

Anyway, this is a tiny tour of my other life, that of a niche market manufacturer trying to survive in US, making everything we sell, ourselves, and employing 12 to 30 people, depending on the time of the year.  We do 2/3rds of our business in June, July, August and September.  It’s a totally-beyond-hectic time.   I don’t remember any real “summer time” since we’ve been together: it’s all a blur of, no, wait, that’s sawdust on my glasses.  Anyway, I just know I’m in doors most of the time, working up to 100 hours a week.

I always love to escape to my sewing, while I do love doing the woodworking and the running of the business, fabric is my medium of choice.  Two years ago I hired help in the sewn products department but that only lasted 2 months so I have done almost all of the company sewing myself.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

So, What Do You Think?

