RSS Feed

What a Diva Must Do

I have slept 21 hours in the past 36.  I am not myself.  I can’t decide exactly what I’m feeling; exasperation and beyond to anger and fear.  Not positive Diva feelings.

I have my very own Hulk, a male employee who cannot take supervision.  He’s basically a good man but he’s got problems with authority and women.  He is incredibly not smart either!  He is only one of 4 men left on our payroll, one of whom is 70 yrs old and the rest can’t think their way out of a paper bag.  We cannot find employees in this forsaken countryside.  The rest of our current 14 are, of course, women. 

Near the end of the work day on Friday when he last started yelling at me I just watched as the veins bulged out and the face changed.  The threat, the challenge, I didn’t step back, I just watched, thinking that my next act might have be to take him to the hospital.  He got his yelling out and calmed himself a bit.  Then I received a great little “frog” email and passed it on to you all.

I have to deal, just deal, professionally and appropriately.  And write up a warning to go into his personnel file.  He has caused numerous problems among the workforce but for some reason, he is never written up.  I also have to have a release from his doctor permitting him to continue to work for Hello Wood because of his high blood pressure and his chronic bronchitis.  He has been asked for this but he has not produced it.  Now I have to write up a letter for him to take to the doctor. 

He will see all this as a personal vendetta.  I am scared, like a little girl, for my company and for this man’s continued ability to make a living.  My husband will blame me for his leaving.  Bah!!!!

If ever a deeper Diva attitude is needed this is it for me.  I’m going to walk and talk with Garbo’s picture in my mind.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. That’s the attitude!

    Reply
  2. I had to edit the total hours. It had been 36 hrs, not 48. I think I’ll have to just let things lie for a while. I have toomuch at stake to allow him to have any power over me or my company. Thanks, Gigi, for the support.

    Reply
  3. Pretty scary, I’m sure! Be strong and give him some attitude right back. 🙂

    Reply
  4. MB, your willpower and courage to stand up against that man, proves you are a Diva at heart.
    Hope your walk and talk with Garbo’s picture in your mind gives you all the strenght to deal with that employee next week.

    Reply
  5. As frustrating as it is, you’re doing the right thing MB – and the good karma will help you in the end.

    Reply
  6. Actually, you do have lots of power, as you are the employer. He is doing his level best to intimidate you, and most likely every other person in his life, so why should you be any different? Document, document, document…leave a paper trail – dates, times, direct quotes. (Of course that won’t protect you from outright assault.) Good luck, and keep up the good work.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

