RSS Feed

Finally, A New Design

Posted on

Ok, it’s rather simple, and I haven’t digitized in a few years but this will have to do for the next few shows.  I wanted to do something related to the exploration of Earth and Sky and this was drawn while Els and Georgene and I were Instant Messenging one fine day.

I hope Montessori teachers will like it.  My favorite part is the lightening bolt.  Husband wouldn’t let me delete the flower because he says it’s a symbol of childhood.  Maybe it’s a Montessori thing, as I was unaware of the symbolism when I put it in.

I really need to spend some time learning the digitizing part of my craft!  Just in case you’re wondering this design has my copyright attached to it.

What do you Divas think about this design?  Any comments/critiques?

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

6 responses »

  1. I think it’s gorgeous! I love the curly waves. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I would like the “Montessori Exploration” to be perhaps a different color/font. It’s all blocky,and your artwork is so nice and flowing.

    Reply
  3. Hi MaryBeth,
    The first time you showed me that design I liked it and still do but now I look at it more seriously and, I ditto the comment made by Georgene about a different color for the text.
    I do like the lightening bolt but I find it a bit busy because it is placed partly over the text. But because this shirt is for teachers who works with children this remark does not have to interfere with your design.
    If people look from a distance the text in dark blue or red will be more visible on the denim light blue shirt, and the difference in letter font and your art work does not match, but there is perhaps no need too. This letter type is easy to read for children which can be a plus on this design

    Reply
  4. Yes, and I thank you all. I used to do the lettering in Red, which on the screen looks better, and in script fonts, but somehow in a denim shirt and from a bit of a distance the script is hard to read and red actually disappears. Embroidery is funny that way. It’s isn’t what it seems once it’s stitched out and being worn.

    Reply
  5. Report: I stitched out two more of this design and, darn, I will have to redo the lettering. It’s just not well digitized. The stitches are too tiny and close together. The needle actually shreds the thread with it’s repeated passes. Surely I can do it better! Gigi had an inkling this would be true. Knows her business, that one 🙂

    Reply
  6. I like the lightning bolt as it is, but would put it behind the text and maybe take it down a shade or two – not quite so bright yellow, more umber or old gold.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

