RSS Feed

The Knitting Machine Room

Posted on

What used to be the Living Room at The Stitchery is now the Knitting Machine Room and Westie nap bed. Humans can nap, too, but they must behave.
100_2031
I am finally, after a delay of a whole year and a half, making a foray into organizing and using the knitting machines. I have been alternately sewing, embroidering, and managing home and company as fast as possible but never really “catching up”.

Here’s the room devoted to knitting machines…I managed to sort through stacks of instruction books and patterns in the last few days. There’s still plenty to do to “make it pretty” but now the choice is, work on more visual organization or “shoot the engineer and start production!”

I’m going for “production”. My first consideration will be which machine to use. I want to make a skirt and a matching jacket. The Passups, a Duo 80 and an E6000, are very good at making jacquards with no floats. The needle spacing on these machines is 5.0 cm, wider than the Brother/KnitKing 4.5cm. I plan a solid color Fall suit set so I am leaning toward using either the KnitKing IV or the Brother 830.

The next question is what yarn to use:
100_2028
Many of these cones were purchased off the table at different machine knitting conferences and I have never ordered yarn for a specific pattern. I hope to find a cone in a colorway I like that will allow for a skirt and jacket.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

One response »

  1. I’m afraid I may be needing my own knitting machine after I see what you do with yours. Another hobby?? :-O

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

