RSS Feed

The Swatch

Posted on

100_2050The afternoon was spent trying to update this blog. I think I picked a bad time to start blogging with the new Beta verison coming out because the latest entry wasn’t showing up and changes to the template are taking forever to show, too.

I also set up the Brother 830. It was totally simple but I got stuck on the simplest part: which side of the sponge bar goes up when you insert it. I finally found a PDF on one the yahoo groups that tells how to make your own replacement sponge bar and it kindly mentioned which side goes against the needles. The sponge side sits on top of the needles, in case you’re wondering, too. Is this a closely guarded industry secret or something?

I finally e-wrap cast on 60 stitches, knit 82 rows and am here “kissing” the needles with the latch tool to caste off. I am taking forever! My hands are clumsy and all I can think about is the speed at which my teacher, Diane Piwko, flew when she showed me how to do it.

I took a two day beginner’s class with Diane during last fall’s Grand Rapids Area Knitting Seminar. That has been the sum total of my experience as a student of machine knitting.

Will I ever become proficient? I suppose so, but it will be a few weeks down the road!

So here’s the swatch of Silk City’s Wool Crepe Delux. It’s 80% wool, and 20% rayon. It’s navy and I don’t know why the colors in the photo are so weird. The specks you see in the fabric are glimpses of the underlying oak table which is not really bright yellow. Hmmm, this has been a star-crossed day for me and technology.

100_2052But the next step should be simple (LOL, right). I have to wash, dry and press the swatch before I measure it to count how many stitches I am getting to the inch. I am going to steam and hard press per Bonnie Triola’s methods. She’s made some absoltuely wonderful suits and I would love to try to do some of the things she’s done.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I think your samples look great! It would have taken me an eternity to hand knit them. I’m still having trouble getting past the garter stitch. 🙂

    Reply
  2. CAN YOU TELL ME WHERE YOU FOUND THE FILE ON YAHOO GROUPS TO MAKE YOUR OWN replacement sponge bar ?

    Reply
  3. Go to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Brother-Knitting-Machines/ and join, if you need to. The PDF file can be found by clicking on Files, Repairs & Machine Maintenance, Sponge bar replacement.pdf at the bottom of the list. Good group to join!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

