RSS Feed

A Swatch of Understanding

Posted on

CSwatch_0
As I was falling asleep last night I was reading a knitting manual by Mona Early and Mary K. Johnson, published by Easy Knits in 1988.

Page one: “Knitting a Test Square” gave me the info I needed to decipher this swatch done by the last owner of one of my ebay purchases. Finally! This swatch was in a big bag of knitted pieces than had come with the production’s knitter’s Passup Duo80 purchased in an auction to benefit The Little Loom House, in Louisville, KY. I had always wondered what the holes were for and the extra colors in the knit and why there was all this information written on a card.

The short answer is so that you can tell the tension gauge at which the piece was knit and the different colors are there so you have a way to measure your work. The knitter made 6 holes. That means that she used tension dial setting 6. Her card indicates that the machine she used was a Vario, Passup’s chunky gauge knitter.

Here’s my swatch in the sunlight laid across the book that showed me the error of my ways.
Shaping
As you can see I’m going to have a hard time measuring accurately and counting my stitches. I had better change my ways and remember this for my Master Knitter’s program. I am sure I will have to submit swatches done much more professionally than yesterday’s work.

My next mistake was to block and press without a blocking cloth. Here you can see how off square my guess-timation wasSwatch_0
Live and learn. Learn

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

So, What Do You Think?

