RSS Feed

Casting About to Cast On-Fall’s Fabulous Knits or Not?

Posted on

I seem to be intent on showing you all the silly mistakes one can make! Oh well, maybe this will help someone else to get back into machine knitting.

This Fall’s fashion are knits, knits and more knits in layers! If I were more sure of my skills, I’d abandon my plans to make this simple Flirty Skirt from the latest issue of KnitWords and go for making a sweater dress or tunic. You know, with large drapey cowls or tiny cute neckline gathers…but I have much to learn first!

To get a closer look at the technique below click on the photo to make it larger. And then use your browser’s back button to return here to read on.

Here I’m doing a latch tool cast on. After quite a struggle with the stitches falling off I finally remembered to turn the latch tool slightly to the right when grabbing the strand of yarn above the needle bed before pulling it through the loop. The second important motion is to thrust the latch tool straight up to grab the yarn. This motion will move the loop on the tool to a position behind the open latch.

Ah, yes, problem solved.

Latch%20tool%20cast%20onYes, I’m making another swatch. For the first one I thought it appropriate to set my tension dial at 5. I had been reading about making swatches, I was doing my homework…but after carefully measuring out 4 inches square and counting the stitches and rows (oh, my poor eyes!), I didn’t have enough stitches nor rows to match the gauge of the pattern I had chosen. So I pondered how to make more row per inch…and then looked at the pattern. Right there, at the beginning, it says, “T4”.

Lesson learned: Read the pattern! So now I’m redoing the swatch at tension dial setting 4, which is tighter than T5.

In making the first swatch I used the “e-wrap” cast on. On the far left needle you make a slip knot and then wrap each needle from the left to the right, making an “e” shape behind each open latch. To do this the needles will all have to be pulled forward. Here’s my attempt at illustration:
E-Wrap
You tighten up the yarn over the needle (not too much) and continue on to the end, bring the yarn from underneath the arriage and up into the opened gate, into slot A. Remember to close the gate!

Happy knitting!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Nice to stumble onto another machine knitting blog.I will visit regularly.
    I currently use my knitting machines as hand knitting slaves.

    Reply
  2. Great! Glad to have you visit 🙂 I’ll check out your blog, too.

    Reply
  3. Wow MB – this is so interesting! I know nothing about knitting machines (in fact I’ve never seen one in person) and have always wondered how they operate.

    Reply
  4. I LOVE the flirty skirt – it’s so you! I’m glad you are blogging about machine knitting. I’ve always been curious about it so this will help me decide whether or not I want to give it a try.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

