RSS Feed

Things Finally Done

Posted on

Finally! I have been meaning to do these things…

I joined Knitter’s Edge this week and have learned lots already. This is a great site! I highly recommend it to those who are knitting. Since I am not a hand knitter I can’t say anything about the hand knitting side of the site but the machine knitting is wonderful. Patterns, techniques, yahoo group, videos, it has it all.

Here’s a cone of acrylic with approximately 1 pound of yarn on it to show you how a cone of yarn looks if you haven’t seen one before:

100_2073
I finally ordered a Silver Needles electric cone winder from Angora Valley Pat Fly is the owner and she was super fast to ship and very pleasant to purchase from. Her price was lower than the offer at Allbrands.com. Rocking Horse Farm has the same offer.

Allbrands offers the cone winder plus 20 cones and free shipping and still comes out at a more expensive purchase. If I need more than the 2 cones that come with Angora Valley’s winder I can order 20 from Allbrands for $20. That’s something for a future Needs Doing list. I am taking a chance that the shipping will be charged but in the meantime I won’t have to store 20 empty cones that I don’t need at this time.

I had a bit of a shock when I called Allbrands to cancel my order after finding the same item elsewhere. They told me I couldn’t cancel it because it had already been sent to the warehouse. But wait, the order was only placed the day before and my account their website says my order has not been shipped yet. It is incorrect to say that a customer can’t cancel an order before it’s been shipped and illegal to refuse! They called “the warehouse”, Silver Needles in Wisconsin, and finally relented, cancelling the order. Ha, I don’t like companies that try to do this, it’s very poor customer service and not the law, anyway.

Back to the cone winder: A cone winder will allow me to purchase those yummy handknitting yarn shanks and use them on the knitting machine. I also ordered a ball winder which I’m hoping will help me combine two strands together. It will make a small ball of yarn that can sit in the Passup’s cup holders.

Here’s a swatch of two different yarns and colors:

100_2084

You can see where the white yarn got hung up and wasn’t feeding through well by the darker colored stripes. The wide mauve stripe is where the white broke and I kept knitting for comparison. The mauve yarn is flax, silk and poly and the white is called High Gloss. I don’t know anything more about them.

In my swatch the white is much thinner and floats to the top of the stitch, making the fabric whiter overall, with the mauve as a shading. Interesting but not quite what I had in mind!

Crate

I haven’t had much luck knitting from two separate cones: the yarns seem to get hung up on my milk crates set up and I don’t always notice in time to prevent the strips from forming. Rip-it!

I haven’t spent much time on this problem: how to get the yarns to be twisted together so that the color combinations are even through the knitted piece. Does anyone know how?

Maybe I need to ask my husband to make a nice smoothly finished wooden stand for multiple cones later into winter when the orders at the Company slow down. Now, while we are setting up schools for the new year, is not the time for a “honey do”!

Happy Saturday Knitting!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. Well, a little bird who shall remain anonymous since they emailed me privately rather than comment here, has just suggested that I run the lower yarn up through the cone of the upper yarn. Thank you, Little Bird! I’ll try it.

    Reply
  2. You can also get a different fabric effect by plating the yarns.

    Reply
  3. Hi,
    In response to your question about twisting
    yarn together: Take the yarn on the bottom of
    your milk crate and thread it through the
    bottom and out the top of the cone on top.
    This will twist your yarn. Also, if you have
    tension problems you can put a stocking over
    each of the cones to help even out the tension.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

