RSS Feed

Picking Up Stitches

I’ve haven’t had much time to post about restoring the skirt lately.

I’ve been restoring the computers at the company since we had a server crash last weekend. I don’t have to do this restoration alone, thank goodness, we have a computer company that serves as “the experts”. I have a law degree and am a systems designer, not an engineer…so my job is to make sure everything that serves the company, the employees, and the customers is put back in place and operable, in every way.

Again. This is the 3rd crash since January and this is a new server. The best we can figure out is that Windows Server 2000 doesn’t play well with the Raid 5 array. So, why are they sold? And exactly how does a small company stay afloat in such treacherous an environment? No answers come and still we plug on. Our plan is to migrate to Windows Server 2003 in hopes that the operating system will perform correctly. I have to rely on the information I can glean and what my “experts” tell me. Perhaps the problems lies in the Raid 5 array. Perhaps our applications software requires a different type of server. Hmmmmmm.

I have hidden away an hour every evening to The Stitchery to rip back to these awful holes and carefully apply the latch tool to pick up all the dropped stitches. I am halfway through the mending of the skirt.

What have I done wrong? I’m not sure yet. I’ve cleaned the yarn tension guides. The sponge bar was new two years ago and stored separately inside the machine case. Perhaps it is indeed a problem of not enough weight and when I have restored all the dropped stitches I shall rip back to the last row of good, even tension, hang more weights and pray that I won’t have to do it all again.

It is a time to exercise extreme persistence and practice patience.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

One response »

So, What Do You Think?

