RSS Feed

Silk City Wool Crepe Deluxe at Rest

For those just joining this blog I wanted to make KnitWord’s Business Flirty Skirt
I dove in, I swatched, I learned to use the garter bar, I fixed, I puzzled and I queried. Finally, I queried the pattern’s designer and now I’ve ripped it all out and rewound the wool crepe deluxe back onto cones. I’ve learned that this yarn needs to be knit at a tight tension. It is also not a good yarn to use on your first project. This is my third, so I thought I would stick with it until I had worked it out. I so want a St John’s Knits Chanel style suit.
Yarns at rest, waiting for the next adventure: 100_2121
The designer, Mary Anne Oger, who also is the publisher of KnitWords magazine and a well known teacher, advises that since I need a wider skirt than this pattern allows it would be best to follow a different pattern rather than to change the gauge. Since I had knitted up the whole front piece and the better part of the back I agree: the wool crepe deluxe needs the tighter tension to keep it from being too stretchy and “sat out” as a skirt.

I had originally decided to line the skirt and had added 4 rows of stockinette to the bottom of the waistband so that I could attach the lining, dressmaker style but I’d rather have the true feel of a top quality knit. Being a Sewing Diva I’m all in to top quality, of course.

I need to do a 3 or 4 panel skirt. And I need to learn how to use the knit leader to knit from a pattern of my own making.

The holes: Made because the yarn is “floating” (a common problem with Brother machines, according to Mary Anne), not knitting as it should because of the tighter tension in a stockinette stitch. She suggested a yarn spray, or weights (which changes the gauge) or programing the machine to select each needle. I’d have to use a punchcard on this machine or switch to the KnitKing IV (electronic).

I happen to have a pattern book by Bonnie Triola. She knits with this type of yarn on a Singer/Studio 360 or 570. I do have an old Studio 360 that I can try, as well.

I hope I don’t drag my readers through too many of these misadventures.

Everyone’s waiting for the final product: TA DA! A Beautiful Garment.

But it seems they are not easily made over the course of a learner’s beginnings. Sorry!!!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. Actually MB, I find the whole problem solving/planning process to be really interesting because I know absolutely nothing about making knits! I just bought some wool crepe knit from FFC – it’s really nice. I can see why you’d want to make your own!

    Reply
  2. I dont mind following your adventures.Even without a FO yet I have learned quite a bit just reading the processes so far.Nothing to be sorry about.
    Cheers

    Reply
  3. very interesting post! I wish I could write like you…

    nancy

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

