RSS Feed

Lucile Hardy Dearborn

Mother
I promised you a picture of my Mother and here she is dressed in one of the outfits she was required to make while at Traphagen. It must have been taken in mid-1930’s, when she was 19 or 20.

There seems to be a large bow on the jacket and the skirt seems to be made from rayon. There’s a white blouse under what looks to be a swing style jacket. She has matching gloves in her lap. She always said gloves were very difficult to make. And she said she didn’t like to make hats but she always got a lively look on her face when she saw or thought of or talked about berets.

I never knew that this picture existed until one day, right before she was to turn 80 years old she mentioned that her sister had saved an old picture of her from back when she was in school. She said she was very touched that her sister would have saved it.

Simple things like that can mean a lot to sisters.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. Oh, MaryBeth, your mother was such a stylish woman! Now we see where you get your great sense of style.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for your kinds words, Gigi. She is remembered as a “fahion plate” by those who loved her.

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful keepsake to have!

    I totally agree with what Gigi said.

    Reply
  4. Hats, gloves, all those wonderful accoutrements that one wore even on a day when it wasnt blustery and cold outside. ~Sigh! How could we long for such a thing when it took women so long to remove themselves from clothing restrictions? When I see a photo like this, I think that something was lost as well. Your mother was so beautiful, and I am sure talented as well, because the apple didnt fall too far from the tree.

    Reply
  5. I have always loved this picture MaryBeth. I remember it well from when you used it as your avatar. Your mom was beautiful and stylish. But then, I’m not surprised, given her daughter!

    Reply
  6. Gotta love berets. They make me smile also. I made a mental note a few weeks ago to buy myself a new red one.

    Reply
  7. Ditto Gigi! A lovely young lady…and I believe I can detect some family resemblance 😉

    Reply
  8. Charming photo of your mom. She was quite the stylish one!

    It reminds me a lot of one of my parents on their wedding day in the early 1950s. My mom was wearing a suit and blouse she made, her white gloves in hand. And of course, no ensemble was complete without a hat and structured handbag.

    Reply
  9. Hats – Lordy, I love hats! I wish we could revive those hairstyles that make hats work.

    Reply
  10. I love this picture of your mom! She has on such a great outfit. You look like her, too.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Burda + #404 Again and Again and Again « The Stitchery

  12. Pingback: Warm Winter Sheath Secret – Tricot Lining « The Stitchery

  13. Pingback: Warm Winter Sheath Secret – Tricot Lining « THE SEWING DIVAS sewing, design, fashion

  14. My Aunt Lucile was one of those women who got more beautiful as she aged. She always looked like a fashion plate and had the personality to match – and Mary you are your own version of your mother with the added attraction of an unrivaled sense of humor.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

