RSS Feed

Ralph Lauren Style.com Show

To understand this hoot and hollar, you need to spend a few minutes looking at the runway show Ralph Lauren at Style.com…he’s made my day, my week, my Fall, my Winter, My Spring!

For contrast and to appreciate Ralph Lauren look at any other show. Only Bill Blass interested me in the I want to wear that department.

Thanks, Georgene, dear friend and Sewing Diva sister, for pointing out his runway show.

During this past NY Fashion Week my sewing muse was slipping down into the couch cushions. She was burying herself even deeper than she did the last few weeks of August when I realized I could only design Fall fashions for the very, very slender body type, like my dear sister, and not for myself. I can’t wear three layers of sweaters, thank you very much, without looking like the much maligned Michelin Man.

But along came Ralphie! And isn’t he such a doll, anyway. He looks like a slender version of my husband (with some hair). Oh yeah, I’m so-o-o-o-o-o impartial (smirk)

Ralph%20Lauran

Photo published by style.com at the end of the fashion show by Ralph Lauren.

And Guess What…A turban! I never in my life thought I would ever love a turban: no room in my heart for a turban, they are spa wear; 1950’s boudoir, eyebrow plucking accourtrements but just look at the glory! Such a Sashayyy.
ralph%20lauran%20turban
OK, back to my menswear loving day. I’m cutting a new shirt pattern for the dear husband. He looks just glorious in his baby pink muslin, can you see “pleased scowl”?

You all have a good one, too!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the link! I have always loved Ralph Lauren’s clothes. I know that he’s often criticized for being too safe or repetitive, but I just think his clothes are classics. When wearing his clothes,you don’t have to worry about someone snickering behind your back at your fashion faux pas, or dread seeing a picture of yourself five years down the road.

    Reply
  2. Seeing this entry I though you might be interested in having a look at some New Zealand designers. It is New Zeland fashion week this week and here is a link to it http://www.nzfashionweek.com/ The key difference I noticed with New Zeland is that a lot of NZ designers are staging a war against black, so a lot of the collections are quite colourful. My favourite this year is Andrea Moore who is a local Wellington designer. Other top name designers include Trelise Cooper, Karen Walker, Zambesi and Nom’D. Hope you enjoy.

    Ruth

    Reply
  3. Pingback: T is for Turban « The Stitchery

So, What Do You Think?

