RSS Feed

Sideways Knitted Sweater Vest

Information about the outfit not included in post at The Sewing Divas blog: The pants are stretch wool, unlined, with pockets made using JSM Pants1 pattern purchased through Judy Barlup’s online store at UniqueTechniques.com. The tee is an ever-growing rayon/lycra. I should have started with a smaller size but didn’t anticipate the growth factor of the fabric. The pattern is Christine Johson’s Princess Wrap Top The fabric was not from CJ. I believe her fabrics have more stability. Ah, the perils of online fabric shopping!

SweaterVestlg
I published this over at The Sewing Divas blog but realized some knitting friends might not go over there and gee, I’d hate for you to miss it.

This vest was knitted from the center to each side on a KnitKing IV, standard gauge knitting machine. It was made from approximately $10.00 worth of Tamm’s Varsity 82%acrylic/18%rayon in their color code 1401, off white heather. It isn’t what I would call off white but I’m not going to argue, this colorway goes with so many things! Being able to create garments with yarn adds a lot of flexibility to the palette you can use to build an outfit.

Here’s the left over yarn and a view of the neckline of the vest. I love the rolled neck and armsyce. It was very easy to do and gives a nice casual definition.

OffWhite_4

I made the vest in a Beginner’s Class given by Diane last Fall at the Grand Rapids Area Knitters Club. We shortrowed the neck line and the armscye and hand manipulated the ribbing.
Neck_6

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Mary Beth, Email me your email address and we’ll “chat” for a whole bunch of reasons I can’t get through to you.

    Reply
  2. Hi, lisette, I don’t what a way to email you. There is however an email button on my website. Click on it. Hope to hear from you! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sometimes you can paste into Notepad, then copy and paste into your blog. It strips the weird formatting from Word and should work for Blogger. Enjoy your blog!

    Reply
  4. Hey MB, great vest. I love the neckline and the pearls.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

