RSS Feed

Sewing Websites

Posted on

Prompted by the recent list of sewing blogs I realized that a few important websites had not been mentioned.

Le Grande Dame is Lily Abello’s website. I refer to her Sewing Related and Button Related pages. You can get started here: LilyAbello.com This site has been been online for quite a few years and some, well, OK, many of the links are no longer active but you will get a sense of the evolution of online sewing information and find resources here that you won’t find elsewhere.

Another great and more updated source for information and resources is SewingMuse.org Darn, she doesn’t have The Stitchery listed but be sure to check out all the pages she does make available. I use the Threads Index, Sewing Links and the Sewing Spider at the very bottom of the page. It’s a definite help when my memory needs jogging.

And, surely the additional information here would not be complete without reference to Threads Magazine. The website has tips, techniques, videos, articles, a message board, and an index of all the articles ever published in the magazine. There happens to be a sale on back issues going on right now through Oct 13, 2006. Through my subscription and ebay I have collected all the issues from 1 to 126 and while the magazine has changed over the years I still find it an invaluable resource for my sewing activities.

A fabulous website that offers search by subject of all Threads articles is Maria’s Index of Threads Magazine Articles by Maria Pinter.

Happy Searching!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

So, What Do You Think?

