RSS Feed

Fran Riley and 10 Different Necklines

Posted on

I went to a machine knitting seminar yesterday put on by the Tennessee Valley Machine Knitters Club. I love seminars! I don’t get out much and didn’t go North to any of the great seminars I blogged about on Aug 27th’s entry. So I listened closely when my friend, Lou Damewood, said this would be good seminar and I signed up just in time to go.

It was a fabulous seminar! Fran is in the process of moving to St. Augustine, FL, and hadn’t knittted in awhile so she was excited to sit down to the club’s Brother 930e with its ribber to show us 10 different neckline trims. How how sweet and special each one was: my mind, usually dulled with daily routines and worries filled with possibilities.

But beyond the designs that washed over me like a flood, it was so great to have Fran share what she had learned about the Brother machines when she was a distributor. I bought my Brother machines after they were no longer being made so many little details are missing my body of knowledge.

It was the first time I had seen a 4 color changer set up and worked by someone besides myself. I’m teaching myself so I had amassed a large library and everything I do is by following a book. I never know if I’m doing it right. I also fell in love all over again with knit weaving. I had seen it done on a video by Donna Seitzer. I must get to the machines!

Fran also gave us the basics for machine shaping a neckline. I have my notes, which are horrible, and I just need to sit down and practice, practice, practice until it becomes second nature.

It was also a special treat to pass time with other machine knitters, many of whom are also into sewing. I was revived by being around kind and gentle souls who love to knit. People came from all over: Chattanooga, Nashville, Clinton, Knoxville.

Special thanks to the TN Valley MK Club for putting on this seminar and getting this hermit out and about. Note to self: Get yourself out of The Stitchery and go to more club meetings!

Fran’s Knitting Boutique new location: 3114 Kings Road, St Augustine, FL 32086 301) 725-4264

To find a knitting club in US or Canada try http://www.machineknitpensacola.net/otherclubs.html

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. Glad you had a good time. I love to watch experts at work – whatever it is they are expert at.

    It is good to get out and connect with others. I have recently joined my local Stitch n bitch group and go evrey Tuesday. It is a very mixed group – all ages and walks of life and we have such a lot of fun chatting about stuff – not all of it knitting.

    Reply
  2. MB, I look forward to following your adventures in machine knitting! I’m going to a Red Sox game in St. Augustine with friends next spring – maybe I’ll make time to pop in and see Fran’s shop. Not that I’m thinking of buying a machine or anything. Honest!

    Reply
  3. Gigi, I know you enough to say that if you see what a machine can do, you will be buying one. And Fran has enough experience with all the different machines to be the person who will guide you well.

    Reply
  4. Hi MaryBeth, I do not knit anymore but I can relate to join a sewing seminar. It is great to be able to talk and share and learn from others with the same hobby or interest. I am looking forward to see what beautiful machine knitting garment you will come up to.

    Reply
  5. I was living in Nashville when I bought my machines from Fran.I moved back to NJ to take a job and brought all with me..I am now the technical designer for Lord & Taylor’s Cashmere line. I have been wanting to find Fran b/c I am so lost on my machines now since I haven’t had the time for them, although they have their own room AND computer. She would wag her finger at me but I still want to get in touch…Thanks for the address. I didn’t get one when she moved from Laurel,MD.

    Reply
  6. missceliespants

    Ok, another random comment. It was through googling I found my instructor. I actually called Fran first because she had a Maryland area code. She connected me to the woman I’m using now who is only 15 minutes away from me. Yay for the internet and social media!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

