RSS Feed

Midwest Knitter’s Retreat…Lucky Break!

Oh my, after a long (well, long for me LOL) period of debt reduction and hermitic behavior, I’m going to another seminar! It so happens that there is a North American Montessori Teacher’s Conference in St Louis, MO and outside St Louis is Belleville, IL where the knitting conference will be held.

Husband and I will drive 7 hours on Thursday and set up for sales starting around 6 pm. I’ll work the booth on Thursday night and Friday but Saturday and Sunday I get to go to the knitting conference. We will have vehicle strategy to work out: the Montessori conference is in the Clayton area of St Louis and the retreat is being held at the National Shrine of Our Lady of The Snows, 30 miles and one bridge away. We only have to figure out the Saturday activities and most likely I’ll drive from the financial district out to the retreat and go back in the evening. But we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

The workshop schedule looks fantastic. Click on the title to link to the retreat and schedule. A few of the teachers will be new to me and I love the ones I’ve already met. What a great thing to be able to do!

I have been contemplating whether or not I want to spend $500 on DAK and am curious about the alternative designing software available. This conference is being co-hosted by Ileen’s Needle Nook and KnitWorks. Ileen has developed the Design-A-Pattern charting program. Don Kluge, the new owner of KnitWorks and a well known commercial embroiderer, will present the workshop on DesignAKnit

Knitting from DesignaKnit

In this workshop, you’ll learn how to connect your computer to your electronic knitting machine, download stitch designs to your machine, and then successfully knit from interactive knitting. You’ll learn essential commands, such as download and integrated download. In addition, you’ll also learn how to download stitch designs from DesignaKnit and knit them with garments charted in Design-A-Pattern

How perfect is this???

The Shrine should be a fabulous place just to visit and Cahokia Mounds are in the same area. I’ve visited this important Mississippian site before as part of my research into lifestyles prior to 1492 when I was developing the Native American Nations puzzle and literature for our Company. It’s always nice to imagine how the landscape must have looked before it was plowed into flat lands.

Now to kennel the dog, get the laundry and house up to code, handle the employee reviews that are due this week, make sure all the bills are paid and get ready for a “Road Trip”!

See you later! I should be home on Monday.

Oh, and today is my anniversary: I’ve been with our company for 17 years. Awesome!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. Hope you have a fantstic time. Isn’t it great when events just fit together perfectly like that.

    Congrats on the anniversary. I bet the time has flown by

    Reply
  2. Hope you have a fantstic time. Isn’t it great when events just fit together perfectly like that.

    Congrats on the anniversary. I bet the time has flown by

    Reply
  3. MB, I can feel the excitement in your voice! I hope you have a great time and learn a lot.

    Reply
  4. MaryBeth congratulations on your 17the anniversary with your company. Wish you and your HB a safe road trip and you sure will enjoy the knitting conference and the companionship of the other knitters.

    Reply
  5. I like the DesignaKnit concept alrighty. Do report back on what you think of it…let me know when you are ready to take on custom knitting jobs, OK? I can think of lots of things I need knitted, KWIM?

    Reply
  6. Oh this blogging stuff is fun isn’t it? I’m new to this, but visit me sometimes so we can keep up. Congrats on your 17th!!

    Reply
  7. Definately let us know what your take on DAK is. I’ve been thinking about it, too. Have a Brother KH-965 and will be adding knits to my line next year. I’ve been sitting on the fence, too about the cost. I’d love the have an opinion of it vs. the other options.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

