RSS Feed

The Other Industrial Machines

This past week I’ve been given a new job: production manager for our woodworking company. So, I’d like to share some of the other machines in my life.

Panel saw on the left and planer on the right

CNC router, left and molder, right

Laser Cutter

While this machine is primarily busy cutting wood and plastics, it is the best thing that has ever happened to my commercial sewing. It is a laser cutter. Using lasers it actually evaporates the molecules of the material it is cutting. We use it to cut wood, metal, plastic, and fabric. It cannot cut vinyl because a poisonous gas is produced. Of course I have at least one vinyl product that would benefit from laser cutting but…can’t kill off the operator!

It cuts in accordance with the code downloaded to it from a commercial drafting program. I use it to make perfectly accurate blanks for the products I sew. I’m so glad to be replaced by a machine!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. Wow MB, that laser cutter is totally cool. Interesting that vinyl is dangerous. What does it produce, benzene? Nasty stuff. But what a great aid in production! (the machine, not benzene)

    Reply
  2. I didn’t name the poisonous gas because I wasn’t sure of it exactly: vinyl chloride? I don’t know for sure and have no way to find out right now.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations, Mary Beth.
    bw
    colin

    Reply
  4. I’ll not show this workshop to the Hubby … he would love to have that set of toys!

    Reply
  5. This company grew out of a workshop and without outside funds nor capitalization most of the work was done by hand with few industrial machines. Our quality and product range has definitely improved with the addition of machines like these but it took a very long time as an actual business shipping internationally to be able to afford them.

    Reply
  6. Wow! Thanks for sharing those with us, MB! It’s always fun to see others’ toys…I mean, work equipment. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Usually commercial machines seem like overkill to me in my humble little world but I covet that laser cutter! No more hours at the cutting table, no more aching back, WANT THAT!

    Reply
  8. Gee, how many hats can you wear at the same time?

    Reply
  9. MB this is awesome. The chemical plants surrounding me produce vinyl chloride and rail it out of here. It is part of the reason DBF wouln’t move here!

    Reply
  10. Georgene: Bingo! That’s the correct question hehehehehehe. But it’s something I’ve been doing all along, through others, so DH just made it official. Men will have to report to me and they resent it. Sigh.

    Mary T: that is the compound I was suspecting it was. Another sign because it leave me cutting and making by hand all the belts for the buckling lessons.

    Reply
  11. This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Reply
  12. My husband lusts for you. 🙂 Well, for the tools you manage, at any rate.

    Reply
  13. So can the laser cutter also cutlarge prices fabric to any size? For example, if you had a huge home dec project that you wanted to trade for some web design…. ;>)

    Reply
  14. Wow! Look at those machines. Thanks for sharing MB

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

