RSS Feed

Edited! Very Few Birkenstock Socks Left

Bummer! Now this is an example of poor marketing…if I were categorizing all the posts I’d put this one in Biz: What Not to Do!

I placed a good size order and was redirected to my closest Birkenstock distributor. I soon received a copy of my order and a few hours later received an email stating that all except one of the socks styles had been discontinued.

Yes, not sold out, but discontinued. I called the store, requested the phone number for the Birkenstock distribution center and tried to understand when the person answering the phone told me that the styles were “Holiday Specials”. Huh? I said, “OK, this is the Holidays!” She just kept repeating the Holiday Specials tagline until she finally told me that the Holiday Specials had been made available in Sept.

OK, so maybe they are “Sold Out???”

I called the store back and told them to find out what socks were still available and then let me know so I could place any order….

What caused this misleading Blog o’ Mine to lead you astray???

1. Poor communications between Distributor (BirkenstockUSA) and retailer

2. Poor timing of advertising email without having coordinated inventory

3. Poor communications with the folks charged with maintaining the Web Site

All adding up to:

4. Lack of Management

In my book every problem not directly attributable to employee malfeasance (and even those, too) can be placed in the category of

Acute Lack of Management.

So while this wasn’t my fault, I must apologize for anyone’s time having been wasted by my post.

love
mb

My Sad Old Post:
Just as I was considering all my eco-urgencies yesterday an email ad from Birkenstock landed in my inbox.

They have a great assortment of socks for Christmas giving. I can’t wear their shoes but the socks are definitely on my purchasing list. I love cashmere socks for the winter.

A few years ago I found wonderful argyll and pokadots and snowflakes at HannaAndersson.com but I only see thick Swedish Woolies in their catalog this year.

I’m going to order from Birkenstock’s socks!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

So, What Do You Think?

