RSS Feed

Final Draft Collar and Stand

I am showing you these shapes because I get lots of google hits with the question of “shapes for collars and stand”. So, here’s what I’m using today.

This is a custom cut of the stand for a shirt with a shallow back neck and wide and deep front neck. Here’s my darling in a RTW shirt. The shape of his neck and shoulders is the reason for the custom cut.

This would not be a good shape for a slender younger man.

I believe my honey’s body type would be called “portly”. What a gentlemanly sounding word. Currently the word “fluffy” would apply to a well-padded female figure such as this but “fluffy” just doesn’t have the ambiance as “portly”. Oh well.

dave3.jpg

I have taken the rounded collar ends of this collar
rdcollar.jpg

and married it to a mix of these two collar and stand shapes.
collar.jpg

But alas, as I was fusing the collar pieces a disaster struck. The under collar became stained with a faint blue black coloring. I have washed and placed between two white sheets, pressing again in the clamshell press and some color came out. It is the under collar so I may use the piece in the interest of getting this shirt finished some time before the end of the year.

I don’t know quite what happened. I had just washed my silk organza that I have used for pressing. I use cream for regular pressing and black for fusing. It must be that color that survived the initial washings, and fusings over the past two years and this time came loose in the wash and deposited on my white-white shirt undercollar.

Can you see it? Maybe it will come out in a future trip through the washing machine…Oh woe is me! Will this shirt ever end?
stain.jpg

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

One response »

  1. Hi MaryBeth, I love the description of Dave as a portly man, btw he is a cute looking man.
    What if we could change the word fluffy for Rubenesk for the overweight woman.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

