RSS Feed

Linton (A Group of Companies)

After posting my long ramblings about menswear inspiration sources online over at The Sewing Divas blog today I was left with one site left open on my desktop: LintonDirect

Check out the history of the company. It’s interesting and somewhat explains how so many companies have come to be born out of one woolen mill adversely effected by late sixties organized labor disputes in the US.

The original Linton site: LintonTweeds.co.uk actually gives more specific information about the different companies that now make up the Linton Group: Linton Direct, Westwood Nurseries and Westwood Renewable Energy

I don’t however, understand how a renewable energy company came into being. But there it is.

You can now sign up for sewing courses on the LintonTweed site by clicking on the links to Gill Arnold and Janet Moville provided here

Hmmmm, I’m so hoping that Pendleton Mills stays in business by any means possible. The mill is located in Washougal, WA where it is still mentioned in the “Community Overview” as one of the industries located there.

I wish I had a crystal ball so I could see the future.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

One response »

  1. I have some samples from Linton Tweeds sitting on my desk. I’m planning to ask Santa for 4 metres of one for my first ‘posh’ suit jacket.

    I’ll probably not make it for months (years?) but I really want it!!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

