RSS Feed

Posting Comments to Beta Blogs-Ranting Along the Open Road

Gee, folks, I just went to http://knitablogaglory.blogspot.com to greet a new machine knitting blogger, Virginia Bottomley, and I couldn’t post my Welcome!!

It seems that you have to have a Beta account to post your comments because the servers are switching from http://www.blogger.com to https://www.blogger.com

A suggested workaround was posted here: http://knownissues.blogspot.com/index.html

Logging in with an old Blogger account to post a comment on the new Blogger is giving a “please try again later” error. Until we fix this, it may work to log in first at http://www.blogger.com/login.g, and then go to the comments page on the new version of Blogger in beta. — latest update on Thursday, December 14, 2006
Labels: , ,

Well, I’m not getting that comment, I just become involved in trying reinterpret that word verification puzzle over and over. I just can’t post a comment.

This workaround did not work for me. Perhaps I did it wrong, perhaps I’m just too dense. I do know I am perturbed.

OK, I do spend more time trying to figure this out? Or do I go sew and knit? Who gets my time (unbillable) today? Usually the time vacuum is Microsoft, now it’s Google.

Darn, the push to migrate to Beta Blogger is intense. But I don’t want to migrate. I want to build a website with the other Sewing Divas and I believe that migrating to Beta will prevent all our previous posts from being brought into the new website.

Grrrrrrr. Sew, Knit or try to solve more cyberspace problems!!! Grrrrrrrr.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

10 responses »

  1. Thanks MB, I noticed the problems too, I could not post comments either on several blogs.
    I need to find another way but till now have not found out how.
    I am refusing to use a gmail account due to warnings from The European Privacy Organisations which warned us Europeans about using gmail and the privacy of post.
    It seems that gmail will read and keep all the mails also when you delete them.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Els. I was just able to post to Ann’s blog as an other, using TheStitchery as my website so there was a link. And I could also post as Anonymous to the Knitablogaglory.blogspot.com

    I just wonder how long we have before TSD (thesewingdivas.blogspot.com) goes the way of the dodo bird.

    Reply
  3. I just tried to post to SwaggerDesign, linked here, and couldn’t because I don’t have a Google account. She doesn’t have the option to post as Other or Anonymous. Look! I’m not sewing and I’m not knitting…I’m so compulsive…!

    Reply
  4. So glad this is not just me … I will try to do the same, using the Needle as a website. That was one thing I hadn’t tried, though.

    Reply
  5. Glad to have an answer why posting some comments seems to be a problem! You guys should check out squarespace. It’s been headache free.

    Reply
  6. Me again … your work around worked for me as well. A bit of a pain, but worth doing for now.

    Will we all be forced to go beta? I for one won’t use gmail no matter what for personal use. I am sticking to my own ISP’s mail system. I love the fact that it screens out 95% of the spam for me. I get maybe 1 a week that make it through judging by the dozen or so they show on my spam log each week that they stop

    Reply
  7. Thanks MB for the tip to use your blog as a starter, I was able to put a comment to Lisettes blog.

    Reply
  8. Well, Els, it didn’t work for me when I tried it much earlier today, but tonight I linked through TS (TheStitchery) and was able to post, too.
    I think Blogger must have fixed something

    Reply
  9. MB, when I went over to check out Ann this morning (18 Dec) , I did not have to do the workaround … it accepted me without a problem. I wonder if this is a permanent fix?

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

