RSS Feed

6 Days to Christmas

What a beautiful email Marfy, the italian pattern company, has sent out this year!

marfy2007.jpg

Amazing how a clean well manicured hand, a large crystal and some sequines on a white dress can be so an uplifting. Thank you Marfy! This reminds me that fashion is art. An excellent piece of marketing, just brilliant!

As beautiful as this message is I am most out of step with the popular Western culture during Christmas. I have no children and no family within many miles. I am not a devoted consumer so the popular Western style Christmas has no meaning to me except that my religious training gives it.

This year, rather than travel to visit family I intend to treat Christmas as a hibernation period: time to withdraw and rest, rejuvenate, and get ready for Spring; a time to climb down into the Kiva of my mind and reflect, and time to touch the center of the crystal.

From this time forward the days will gradually grow longer and give more sunlight to work by. This week coming is the darkest time of the year.

In Western culture a “dark time” often signals a difficult or depressing period. I understand it a bit differently and take it as a time to curl inward and become deeply quiet. I consider it a time to gestate new ideas and sort out priorities of inspirational proportions.

May the spirit of the season be with you all during the holidays as brightly as this Marfy email depicts!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

One response »

  1. As a military family, we mostly are by ourselves during Christmas. While we still have the wonders on Santa and the joyous Mass, we take the rest of the time to cocoon and enjoy each other. Christmas is a time of renewal for our family, especially this year as Brian will be home for 2 whole weeks! I picture you in my mind, curled up in front of the fire wearing one of your comfy sweaters with a book in your lap, just staring intot he flames. They are so relaxing and excellent for meditating. May you find the light you are seeking …

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

