RSS Feed

Graph of Argyle

Graph of Argyle, originally uploaded by Diva Mary Beth.

Here’s the argyle pattern all graphed out on regular graph paper. Each square is a stitch. A single motif, the basic design, is 26 stitches wide and 54 stitches high.

 When I program this into the machine I can ask it to be repeated all across the garment or I can tell the machine to put a cluster of the motif anywhere. The test will be the stitchout.

Now to find enough yarn in the right colors! I can use any colors but a good contrast color story will be most effective.  Diva Georgene, one of the smartest and most informed people I know about things fashionable,  even suggested embroidering sequines into the lines crossing the solid diamonds.  She’s a mad-woman, stopping at nothing to produce a unique garment!  Why, she even suggested tiny rickrack.  Now that’s a precious friend to have!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I’ve got a brother knitting machine that hasne’t been touched in so long that I can’t remember the model number. 965i?… so I’m a bit rusty. How do you get the 3rd color to knit? Is that with a g carraige?

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness, you’ve got a great machine, Alisa. I just planned to do the third color by switching out the yarn manually or adding it (it being the crossing lines over the solid diamonds) by hand stitching after the knitting is done. I believe that adding it by hand will make it pop!

    Reply
  3. Check out the photo of the test swatch of deconstructed argyle on MondoMode….

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

