RSS Feed

Saint Anne and Simple Sewing

Saint Anne, image at http://www.sewitgoes.net/

Image from SewItGoes.net
I have been studying my knitting machine books, trying to figure out the best way to do argyll, oops, argyle, (why can’t I choose something simple like a face cloth???) and have run across a tantalizing method by Audrey Palmer.  She is now passed away but she taught Knit-Weaving throughout the 1970’s and 1980’s, something called “The Louis System”.  Today I  ordered her book, Create with Knit-Weave. I already have her second Supplement to that book.   Now, I wait for the book to arrive so I can learn the differences between her methods, which is what I was taught to call short-rowing, and intarsia., which I haven’t knitted out yet.

 In the meantime I got to sew up some simple leggings for a friend. 

There’s a lot to be said about sewing simple things, out of stretch fabrics!

After all the exacting work required by my dress shirts it was a pleasure to simply cut out Powerstretch and 4-thread serge all the seams, not worrying about perfect fit.  I can leave the perfect fit to the compliance of the fabric itself.

I just posted the package off and I hope that they will fit and be useful. I do hope he will be as warm as I this winter.

 Powerstretch is made by Malden Mills, a company I love to support.  Today I used the Tailor-Made program from Wild Ginger to produce a pattern, based soley on waist measurement and inseam. 
Oh, be with me, Saint Anne, patron saint of seamstresses!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. The ‘midinettes’ or haute couture workers in Paris had St. Catherine as their patron saint, and all the ateliers celebrate 25 November for her name day. I wonder why 2 different saints?

    Reply
  2. I definitely think the two different saints question is a good one and worth researching further. If I can sort it out I’ll report back either here of at http://thesewingdivas.wordpress.com Thanks for the nudge, Goergene

    Reply
  3. Well,Georgene, online I have found nothing concerning St Catherine, which I think is actually spelled Katherine, and have only found St Ann listed as the patron saint of seamstresses. Do you still have contacts there that you could ask?

    Reply
  4. MaryBeth,
    St Anne and St Catharine are both patrons for seamstresses .

    More about St Catharine patron of the midinettes
    http://www.thefanzine.com/print.php?id=27

    Reply
  5. Thanks, Els, mystery solved! I certainly am not a spinster nor a midinette so I’m sticking with St Anne. And thankfully, the leggings I sent fit my dear friend.

    Reply
  6. They lovely and are very warm. Even the colours are great-both favourite colours and you didn’t even ask!

    Reply
  7. I was lucky enough to attend classes given by one of Audrey’s franchised teachers when I lived in South Africa. I am sad to here she has passed away. I am sure you will enjoy the technique.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

