RSS Feed

Silk Tweed: Washed w/Eucalan and Looking HandWoven

Posted on

There’s been some discussion of whether to wash silk tweed or not over at Stitcher’s Guild lately. After a couple of disasters with fabric prep with my local dry cleaners (hey, they treated a 10 yard piece of wool like a linen table cloth and steamed and stretched it completely out of shape) I washed this tweed.

The result is beautiful in this woman’s eye.

I have a piece of silk tweed that I washed and I didn’t like the result so much: it muted the colors and fattened the threads. Still very useable but the wash/don’t wash is a question best settled by testing your own piece.

These pictures are of the fabric after it was laid flat to dry and before any pressing.

100_0162

100_0163

100_0164

Isn’t it colorful? I found it last year at Waechter’s Silk Shop and it’s been waiting for inspiration.

But the inspiration isn’t coming so far. It’s a very heavy piece: 2 yards of 54″ fabric weighs almost 3 pounds 15 ounces. That’s heavy, folks, far heavier than wool.

I am looking for a pattern inspiration that will be something I can wear with a white shirt and pants. I probably will just do without a pattern since I make so many changes to them anyway. Maybe I’ll use one as a jumping off point, maybe not. I “see” a swing topper with no collar or a black cotton velvet collar with all the volume in the back.
I will line it with the less-static-y “Hang Loose” in black that I bought from Baer’s Fabric. Good stuff, and a great store!!!

I also fell for some pricey bamboo buttons from Waechters’ 100_0167“>

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. Hi! Your blog and your fabric are both so pretty.

    … I was thinking collarless.

    Reply
  2. I would suggest this vintage Vogue Pattern
    #2934 a 1950’s jacket. See a reveiw and a
    link to Pattern Review for another beautiful
    version of this lovely pattern and some
    construction tips. http://sharonsews.blogspot.com/index.html

    Reply
  3. MaryBeth that is a lovely piece of silk tweed, great colours too for you.

    Reply
  4. Patsijean: That’s a beautiful jacket that Sharon made. I’m afraid that jacket on me would create a shape similar to a mushroom :O

    Reply
  5. That fabric is really, really beautiful! I’m not even a tweedy type.. but this is really special. I hope you find a great pattern for it. Before I read your thoughts, I was thinking short swingy jacket too.

    Reply
  6. Oh, but maybe with one inverted / box pleat right in the center.

    Reply
  7. MB, I was thinking Marfy 1025 would be nice for this … I also posted over at the Divas (sorry, checked there first this morning).

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

