RSS Feed

A Man’s Work I Love: Science Writer Harold McGee

I love to cook when I have time. And I see that many other sewing and knitting fans do, too.

And I most love to eat (obviously) and have gone so far as to raise and grow almost all our food for a year or two, pursuing the cheapest road to elegant gourmet dinners for two.  I’m over that part now but it was nice to only buy soaps and storage containers at the grocery store or the food coop. 

However, I Am Over All That Now and do not recommend this manner of feeding yourself and your beloveds.  I was only able to do it because I have no children and worked in the same location in which I worked.  At planting and harvest time it is a more than full time job.  But I’m glad I learned what I did and happily rejoined the 20th (at the time) century.  Besides, the greenhouse roof took a tremendous hit and collapsed during an odd whiteout storm of heavy snow.  I took that as a sign from God and cut way back.  But I do miss the heat and humidity of working in the greenhouse.

I have learned what I know about cooking from reading, reading, reading and have an extensive cookbook reference library. I won’t talk about the gardening and landscaping reference library.

 The crowning book in the cooking library is not a cook book but a Cook’s Book, written by Harold McGee. For your procuring enablement, here’s a shameless link to his shameless plug: On Food and Cooking, The Science & Lore of the Kitchen

Harold McGee has joined the blogsphere and I am very grate-ful he has.  For those who haven’t discovered Mr. McGee’s new blogspot here’s the link. 

News for Curious Cooks

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

So, What Do You Think?

