RSS Feed

Going To The Ball!

I’m going to a ball, a black tie affair where most women will be wearing floor length gowns.  It’s a benefit for the Humane Society and it’s called the “Fur Ball”. 

Yes, really, I am excited about going to the Fur Ball, in spite of the name.  There will be a group of 300, a catered dinner, a silent auction, a small regular auction, and dancing to The Nashville Blue Tones, a popular ensemble  from, yes, Nashville.

 I’ve RSVP’d, sent my check and am now entitled to 3 dance lessons each Friday evening until the Ball event.   This should be a fun, a stretch for me since I’m so isolated in my sewing/business world.  But a girl’s got to get out there some time, some way!  My huspartner will be out of town so I’ve arranged my seating at my friends’ table.  They, the two gorgeous hair designers, will (sigh) be in tuxes.  I can hardly wait to see them.

Gasp!  I have until Jan 27th (6:30pm to be exact) to make a gown!

I’d quit buying beautiful formal fabrics since I haven’t gotten The Stitchery opened as a custom dressmaking biz yet.   But before I gave that wonderful preocupation up I purchased a few. 

So, shopping the stash: 

First up I have metallics and frankly I’m leaning towards this combination.   Both fabrics have a lot of body, sparkle and glamour.

100_0186

The patterned fabric is silk/metallic jacquard, coat weight.  It must, must become an evening coat.  It was hugely expensive (over $100, if I remember correctly) a yard but I bought 3 yards, 57″ wide, when Louise Cutting closed her shop in Orlando and got it at half price.  I had planned to offer it to clients for short evening toppers or vests for festive occasions but…Oh dear….  This fabric has a very stiff hand but is smooth and silky.

The soft beige gold fabric is 78% wool, 16% viscose, and 4% lycra.  It is 50″ wide and I have 6 yards in two 3 yard segments.  It was originally priced $59.98 per yard at Textile Fabrics in Nashville but I found it on the bargain table for 75% off.  This fabric does not crush and has a stiff hand although it takes an ironed  crease fairly well, maybe permanently.  The wool threads in it are very, ultra fine.  After steaming intensely it shrank 1/8″ in 6″.  I may wash a swatch and see if it softens up a bit.  It does not drape in soft gathers well but it would make a beautiful off the shoulder gown with full skirt or straight skirt with a full train due to its lycra content.

These are actually better colors for a blonde but since there is a shortage of blondes at The Stitchery these days I might have to “just make do”. 

Tomorrow I’ll look for more choices.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

2 responses »

  1. I saw your coat fabric and thought of the coat from Vogue 8115. The dress is just meh, but I really like the coat. I’ve been surfing for evening dresses too!

    Reply
  2. How did I miss this entry? I can’t wait to see what you come up with … off to read the other posts about the ball!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

