RSS Feed

More Possibilities for the Ball Gown

Switching back to fabrics bought specifically for my coloring here are two knits.  The solid colored one with the sparkles could be a floor length sheath with set in sleeves and a simple slit neckline.  It looks like a “slinky knit” but it’s more like an ottoman and backed with a stable knit so there’s not much give to the fabric.  The colorful one is a slinky and would make a great long vest or coat. 

slinky

And here’s my last fabric purchase:  Pendleton Challis wool from Denver Fabrics.  Pendleton wool is “needle ready” so I don’t have to pre-shrink.  The solid is a sand-washed silk.

This combo would make a great jacket, blouse and long skirt. 

Paisley

I have been pondering the other combo today and bought two patterns: Vogue 2134 and Vogue 2716 as well as some matching stretch lace as I am getting cold feet about bare shoulders.  lace

I’m also wondering how formal others will be dressed.  This is a not NYC and the Fur Ball is a charity fundraiser for the Humane Society.  I’ll ask around tonight at the dance lesson.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. Ooh, I really like the wool challis and blue silk. Of course, that could be because they would suit me! I also like the idea of something bright in January.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Gown Planning #1 « The Stitchery

  3. I love the color of the blues! Both those patterns were ones I considered! Great minds! (with similar bodies!)

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

