RSS Feed

Big Boy Toys

HusPartner proudly came home tonight with his new puzzle: a Backhoe. 
Backhoe

The 9-piece puzzle is 8.5″ x 11″.  Each piece has a knob that is the diameter of a pencil to help children develop the motor skills necessary for writing.

Hydraulics

The parts of the puzzle represent the parts of the machine:  Outriggers, Bucket, Cab, Front Wheel and Rear Wheel, Body, Front End Loader, and two pieces for the Articulated Arm.

Tire

and even etched in tire treads!  I’m very impressed.

He has had fun this winter adding new puzzles to our educational materials offerings:

  • the space shuttle
  • a jet liner 
  • next up: a bulldozer

Some men like to make their own toys.  It’s good to love your work.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. A deep bow for your HB, I love the puzzle , it must be fun to be a kid and
    play/ learn from such beautiful made educational toys.

    Reply
  2. The Pilot saw this and said: “he must have a scroll saw “. I laughed and reminded him of the workshop photo! Beautiful detailing on the puzzle. What a delight to make and to play with!

    Reply
  3. Lorna and Pilot: we do have a couple of scroll saws to sell…but the laser cutter and the CNC router have replaced the scroll saw in production. I used to cut all our puzzles on scroll saw but the demand is higher than what can be produced that way now.

    Reply
  4. Neat puzzle! I love that he detailed the tires.

    Reply
  5. Hi Mary Beth, that’s a very cool puzzle. Nice to know that people are still making and selling toys like that.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I’ve been dropping in and reading yours from time to time, but I think I had lost track when you moved to WordPress. Anyway, I’ve got your correct link on my links list now!

    Reply
  6. I figured it was the laser cutter! But he just rolled his eyes … in envy I am sure!

    Reply
  7. MB-is there a link to your biz website? I,d like very much to get my teaching degree in remedial reading for first and second graders, and your description of the puzzle seems as if these products may be a big help once I get a position. Thanks.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

