RSS Feed

Gown Planning #1

Since attending the dance class given specifically for the ball attendees and finding that no one knows exactly what they will be wearing, I’ve decided to tone down the formal ball gown story and plan on something simpler that would do well in most settings. The Pendleton wool challis I showed here will be too hot for dancing and slinky knits just make me feel dowdy, whether they really are or not. It’s back to using the gold stretch wool/rayon and matching lace

lace1

First test:

I’m going to cut it out Burda WOF 12/2006 Pattern 112 in a lingerie materal tomorrow: muslin as nightgown. I’ll cut with lots of extra seam allowance for fitting and baste it together. With princess lines in front and back and a slight flare at the hemline this cut should be very adaptable.

gown.jpg gowntech1.jpg

Loves: the neckline and the set-in sleeves. Raglan sleeve style have never been flattering so other wonderful Burda WOF styles were sadly eliminated. After first baste-and-fit it’s off to find a strapless foundation garment to purchase. The fit will be polished before the fashion fabric is cut.

The suggested fabric is crepe backed satin but I think the sparkly copper/gold will be a suitable alternative. I can cut a simple coat from the patterned fabric. Vogue 8115 has a wonderful coat this season: I love the outline of it but I don’t want the extra seams that the pattern contains. I just may do something straight with bust darts. Keep it simple.

Full or flat-appliqued fabric flowers could embellish one shoulder/neck edge as an alternative to accessories. Elegant drop earings would be my dream but I’m finding them hard to find at a price I want to pay. Perhaps I’ll have to become crafty with beaded earings to match some beading along the neckedge.

The addition of a godet in the back, starting at high thigh would give some drama and I might add a bow in the back as well.

The fur stole looks wonderful and is the selling point for the Burda write-up. I do have some faux fur that might accomplish the same image without the horror (shudder) .

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

3 responses »

  1. I like the Burda design you choose and like you said adding a godet would be nice to add some drama but also it provides some more room to swivel around on the dance floor.

    Reply
  2. I definitely like the WOF gown better than the other two. And in the gold colour it should be stunning and the lines will be oh so flattering!

    Reply
  3. Finally found you! O if only I had half your
    talent MB I could whip up my own wedding dress
    from this very same pattern in no time! In the
    gold, this will be divine.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

