RSS Feed

I’ve Been Tagged!

Danielle Meder at Final Fashion has tagged The Stitchery. Uh-oh, I say, glancing around wildly, that’s me: one of the hazzards of working alone.

Here’s how it works:

1. someone tags you,
2. you post five things about yourself that you haven’t already mentioned on your blog,
3. you tag 5 people you’d like to know more about

_____________________________________________________

Being a woman of a certain age, I’ve gots lots of stories and most are stranger than fiction:

    I work well with animals. With trepidation I say I might have been a horse whisperer: as a teenager I wanted to be a veteranarian. Since I was a country kid we had no TV nor telephone and I had plenty of time after chores were done. I did some barrel racing and wanted to break and train horses as a sideline. I owned a race horse named Lady Red. She was sold to me because she was just too wild and uncontrollable. She refused to be caught so I had to chase her down and corner her. This entailed lots of running and got me on the track team. I raised and broke her fowl, taking two years of resting progressively heavier weight across his back and withers, until, when I finally mounted him he was ready and willing. Lady Red died of tetanus: My step father, who had a terrible, violent temper, chased her in a truck, hitting her, and then beat her with a board with nails in it for running away from me. I stopped speaking to him. My family split up and the subsequent move from country to the city ended that phase of my life. Animals have always been my solance and I accept the good along with the bad in them much more easiy than I accept the same dichotomy in humans.

    Social organization and the environment are passions. I graduated from college with 2 majors and one minor: Social Relations and Environmental Science with a minor in Media. I put myself through college in the student work programs teaching remedial reading and self-directed learning. I crocheted while sitting in classes. With no money to continue on to a Master program to focus my interests, I got the highest paying job in the area: driving a city bus and then driving for UPS and bought a house. In my spare time I worked with NOW and lobbied for state legislation that would benefit women. I like community building.

     I do well at logic. I went to law school, again putting myself through by working and student loans. I taught Lexus, the computer search program that used boolean search strings and nested logics. I dropped out but I was too stubborn to allow myself to really quit. I worked for the court system in the education and training program, helping to write the plan for the future development of the family courts in Metro-Dade County, Florida, and drafting and lobbying for legislation pertaining to spousal abuse. I finished up law school at an unaccredited school and didn’t pass the bar. I worked in a civil law firm, doing research, writing, interviewing and building cases which I then handed over to a licensed attorney to take to court. I prefer research and writing.

    How groups produce well together is an interest. I worked at a prestigous accounting firm in the early 80’s as a strange sort of temp in their business develpment group, organizing and running their micro-computer training courses where I learned the appropriate corporate decorum and business practices. This experience has actually helped me tremendously in building a business with my HusPartner. Since I had no background in popular film/TV culture nor the common celebrity awe abounding in US culture, I was the person who typed up the nominee and winners list for the Academy Awards. None of the names meant anything to me. I also worked at a top Hollywood entertainment law firm, as a paralegal, handling the trusts and estates and business dealings of movie stars such as Robert Redford, Joan Rivers, Chevy Chase. When Dolly Parton would call and say, “Hi, this is Dolly. Let me speak with ….” I would automatically and stupidly always say, “Dolly who?” OMG, if I could apologize to her today!!! She is so well loved here she is periodically written in as a nominee for Tennessee Governor. I like business development.

    I can relate to Ugly Betty. I survived all the above corporate work history wearing ill-fitted RTW. I hate bad fit and find it so distracting that I wonder how I had the chutzpah to show up to work at all.

    Too much information, I know.

    Throwing a wide variety of interests net I tag Mondomode, DesignLoft, Purls and Murmers, Atelier, Newman’s Needle

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Regarding Lady Red, what a terrible thing to
    happen to her, and to you. You were too young
    to have to witness how cruel some people can
    be. My dad was the opposite. As a child, I put a
    stick in our dog’s collar. I remember wanting
    Linda to carry something like the dogs on TV.
    Daddy talked to me about how Linda could have been
    hurt if the stick had twisted. He explained that
    dogs had feelings too, and if I could not take
    care of her and her feelings, I did not deserve a
    dog.

    Reply
  2. Wow, I’m so glad I tagged you! Great post, thank you.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Tagging, et cetera « The Stitchery

  4. MB, I am so glad you wrote this – NOT too much
    information. What an interesting resume.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

