RSS Feed

Cranberry Red Crepe Backed Satin Silk

How could I need more fabric??? I just didn’t have any crepe backed satin and the dress demanded it. Stash shopping just didn’t work for this pattern. I’m still wondering how that could possibly be true.

new

I used a gift certificate and took advantage of the 30% off sale but 3 yeards of this stuff isn’t cheap! I bought the trim to define the empire line and hide the adjoining seam.

I had the burnout in the stash from a Ressy’s coop purchase. Both fabrics have been washed and pressed and I’m ready to begin drafting a new neckline.

I need to raise the neckline by a half inch or 2 cm. to cover the horrible foundation garment. I went to the best bra fitter in Nashville and came away with a few different styles by Goddess. I can return them is the tags are still on and after a 30 minute test wearing they just are too uncomfortable. I can say right now they are too uncomfortable!

But you must suffer for beauty, right? I usually reserve that roll for the very bad feets! Oh yeah, I might have tolerable shoes in the closet.

(Note to self: don’t put off making a long line bra any longer…you will now pay for your folly!)

I am going to add small black shoulder pads under the burn out and redraft the neckline to be higher on the neck and just roll around to the front.

My shock at the muslin was trying it on in harsh sun lighting streaming in from the side window and seeing all the wrinkles on my chest from being my age. Who ever says that the 50’s and 60’s are the new 30’s and 40’s just doesn’t know what the heck they are talking about!!!

Phooey, who’s neck was that anyway? I’m so tempted to use lots of black gorgette in this design on the neck and arms :O.

Time to hit the drafting/cutting table.

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

9 responses »

  1. The fabric you bought is gorgeous. Happy sewing and good luck on sewing the ball gown. ( remember crepe back satin snags easily)

    Reply
  2. What gorgeous fabric! It is perfect for your coloring.

    Reply
  3. MB, you may want to cover the shoulder pads in ‘flesh’ color rather than black with a sheer burnout. You might look like you have 2 black pancakes sitting on your shoulders with them grinning thru the fabric.

    Reply
  4. Good idea, Georgene! Will do, although I have another possible avenue for concealing them up my sleeve, so to speak: embellishment with a different black velvet burnout appliqued over the shoulders and down the front. I’m stealing ideas from all the comments left so far 🙂

    Reply
  5. The color is gorgeous and suits your pale skin and dark hair. Happy sewing!

    Reply
  6. Mary Beth, I’m going to sew a corset in febuary and promise to make a step by step blog entry. I already have made one and can say, they don’t have to be uncomfortable if fitted right! They make a great basis for all kinds of dresses (We go to balls regularly and I love off-shoulder dresses, so I need some support)

    Reply
  7. I like the colors too and can’t wait to see the finished garment!

    Reply
  8. Leslie in Austin

    Now *that* is the color. Can’t wait to see the final product!

    Reply
  9. I remember that fabric! It was very well behaved in the dungeon…until the lights went out and the parties start….I’d get more sewing done if I wasn’t always cleaning up after dungeon parties!
    So nice to see it behaving itself!
    Ressy
    EFQ

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

