RSS Feed

Sweetheart, I’m Just Not Feeling The Love…

Sweetht1

I redrafted the sweetheart neckline .5″ higher than the pattern had it. But when I did I goofed.

I have unpicked the understitching and pressed it all flat again before I realized that I need this picture to show you the result I’m going to be fixing:

neckline1

I left too much unsupported curve in the open area of the neckline and didn’t make the bottom “Vee” well enough defined. I’ll leave in some curve. Sharp angles would be equally awkward.

I have yet to reshape the sleeves to accomodate the shoulder pads, perfect the fitting through the torso and sew up the side seams as well as hem the garment so I should have a finished dress in a few days.

I also have decided to forego store-bought “foundation garments”. I will use what I have and may find time to build a waist cinch type of thing, but I just can’t bring myself to suffer any more than I have to. The bra I’m wearing in the photo above will be just fine.

Ah, relief!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

7 responses »

  1. I think this will be a really great gown Mary Beth – can’t wait to see it!

    Reply
  2. I like your new neckline and the color is beautiful.

    Reply
  3. Gee, I go away for 48 hours and come back to find you in a gown that is almost finished! Speed demon! I love that colour, BTW! Perfect for you. And you did shop the stash … that burnout was stash, so you did well!

    Reply
  4. MaryBeth,
    You moved! I have been so busy I have not been
    able to read all my favorite blogs. I wanted
    to contact you because I have a couple of machine
    kitting books written by Jodie Raymond. I
    got them thinking they were hand knitting and
    they are for machine knitting. I want to offer
    them to someone for free. You are the only
    machine knitter I could think of. I don’t know
    of anybody in my local area who is a machine
    knitter. If you would like to chat more about
    these books, contact me through a PM on Stitcher’s
    Guild. My userid is LindaF. Your dress looks
    gorgeous from the little bit I have read so far.
    Take care.

    Reply
  5. This has happened to me, too. (I actually think I’ve made every sewing mistake there is!) So far it’s beautiful and I can’t wait to see a full picture!

    Reply
  6. Wow! You are really swift MaryBeth. Beautiful color on you. I love the subtle curve you have there, too.

    Reply
  7. Thanks for the support folks, it’s been a long time since I’ve done a formal dress. The sweetheart neckline lessons was first learned, oh, let’s just say, many years ago, but I found the silk satin to be more drapey than I expected. Good thing there’s a fix, right?

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

