RSS Feed

Almost Finished

Last minute design change: I’m thinking of adding a duchess silk satin bow and streamers to the hemline. This is just a test so don’t be fooled by the blue ribbon being off center nor the lack of streamers, this is still a hard hat area (under construction). It feels like an obi without the sash.

Bow

Redrafted sweetheart neckline, with raised back neckline and extended shoulders raised for shoulder pads.

Swthrt

Yes, I am as tired as I look. And my silk is getting fatigued as well. Tomorrow I’ll be going to the local alterations shop to get help with marking the hemline.

frt

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

18 responses »

  1. It looks lovely on you!

    Reply
  2. I would make that bow softer, underlined with organza. Also perhaps not in black? Do you have self or burnout left over?

    Reply
  3. Nothing left but a few scraps, I’m afraid. I was aiming for the stiffer effect here so I used the Duchess Satin, rather than some black 3 momme crepe backed satin that I have. I really don’t want to fuss with organza shaping. With all the men in formal tuxes I think it will work.

    Reply
  4. You may look tired, but the dress looks lovely; well worth the effort.

    Reply
  5. Your dress is beautiful but, to me, the bow is overwhelming. I like the elegance of the front. The bow seems to spoil that look. I would suggest leaving it off. It is just one thing too many.

    Reply
  6. The dress is lovely!!

    As others, I prefer it without the bow, which seems to interrupt the flow and elegance of the dress.

    Reply
  7. Wow it is really beautiful.

    Reply
  8. PS The dress is truly lovely – great fit in the neckline and the body of the dress flows elegantly. Since you cant have the same fabric for the bow, and dont want to ‘fuss’, leave it off? I vote for a softer bow if you must have it for reasons that are not revealed to us -hidden by that jumbo bow.

    Reply
  9. I love the lines of the dress and the fabric combination, but I think you should leave the bow off altogether. The back-view is nicely balanced with the burn-out on the shoulder/upper back area and the inset on the skirt part. I personally think that the bow is just “interrupting” this nice line.

    Reply
  10. Yeah, not fair! I should have shown the dress without the bow as well. OK, tomorrow I will put up one without it after I visit the alterations ladies to see if I can get an even hemline. Thanks for the comments!
    Tick, tick, tick: 3 more sewing days….

    Reply
  11. The gown is gorgeous and elegant. I would skip the bow if you do not have to use it and if you need a bow for some reason try a softer one and in a smaller size otherwise it is to overwhelming on your back.

    Reply
  12. What a perfect fit! Beautiful!

    Reply
  13. Your dress is stunning! That silk is such a gorgeous colour. I agree with everyone else that the big bow is too much and spoils the line a little.

    Reply
  14. Wowza MB this is fabu! See, I told you you
    would not look bad or what was it? – a bomb
    or something? No, no no. this is perfect,
    without the bow of course.

    Reply
  15. I love your dress, too. It’s beautiful.

    But I do agree with those who think it doesn’t need the bow.

    Reply
  16. Just catching up on the dress posts.The dress is simply stunning.Great colour and the necklace superb

    Reply
  17. You look GORGEOUS! I love the style, the color, everything! I too vote for skipping the butt bow.

    Reply
  18. Beautiful, but no on the bow – it just makes everything look wider. The neckline and sleeves are just perfect.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

