RSS Feed

The Final Product

outfit

Not perfect, but good enough. I had lots of compliments and found myself wishing I could have redesigned dresses for three quarters of the women at the affair.

Maybe I should open a custom shop to the public after all. It was so frustrating to see RTW on the 302 people who attended the affair. I only saw one knit dress and it was superb!

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

14 responses »

  1. stunning!
    We’ve been to a formal dancing event 2 weeks ago and it was horrible to see that at least 25% of the ladies wore a) a size not their size or b) wrong colour or c) very ill fitting clothing…

    maybe it’s just us sewers seeing thinks like that…

    I love your necklace too!

    Reply
  2. Stunning ensemble, MB! Diva divine …
    I think you should open up the Stitchery for public consumption. Prom season is coming … just think of all the young women who could be saved form inappropriate style choices!

    Reply
  3. Your dress is beautiful – color, fit, style, everything!

    Reply
  4. Diva divine is right! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Mary Beth ~ your dress and jacket are amazing and you look very beautiful in the ensemble!

    Reply
  6. MB I love your dress and the coat is superb.
    you do such great work the fit colors are great

    Reply
  7. You look fantastic!

    I know what you mean. When I was watching a movie the other day I was totally distracted by their knitted garments – how they were constructed and how I would do it differently.

    Reply
  8. Leslie in Austin

    Better tone it down, woman. Lookin’ like that, people are going to expect you to be writing *big* donation checks! 😉

    Reply
  9. Cara! Muy fabuloso! You are, as the Manolo would say, “Super Fantastic”!
    And the hair!
    And the bag!
    And the bling!
    Oh, totally fabulous!

    Reply
  10. Love the gown, you look beautiful in it!
    Well done!

    Reply
  11. You look fabulous! They weren’t swooning at your feet?

    Love the jacket too.

    Reply
  12. Ooooh, honey. You look like a million bucks. Congratulations on a job well done!

    Reply
  13. Your outfit looks great, MaryBeth. As for the other clothes, I had similar thoughts at my sons’ high school grads. I worried about the shoulders on their suits not fitting perfectly, but compared to the rented suits most boys wore… And I wasn’t surprised to learn the one really attractive, well-fitted dress had been made by the girl’s mother. Most people who don’t sew just don’t notice.

    Reply
  14. Great dress, MaryBeth!

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

