RSS Feed

Aftermath of Silk Obsession

I am not sewing today. Well, maybe not. I do owe some orders at the company. Hello-o-o-o-o-o to reality!!!

But it was so nice not to wake up with a mental list of things to do on the dress.

Things I didn’t do and it didn’t matter:

    I didn’t hem the sleeves, left the selvedge edge.

    I didn’t tack down the facings, they didn’t seem to need it afterall

    I didn’t sew in the shoulder pads, I used double sided tape.

    I used the double sided tape to secure the top of the sweetheart neckline to the bod, and felt so much more secure!

All these fine tunings of the dressmakers art really would have been wasted on this crowd afterall. I saw boned bodices held tighter with safety pins, gowns from the early 80’s, fluffy frou-frou baby blue bridesmaid dresses, totally wrinkle-y bias seams, a couple of crotch shots from a young dancer doing high kicks with a cut away hemline….

Oh my! and these were “nice” people.

But today: devotion to home and animals and catching up with TheSewingDivas! What thoughtful, intelligent posts have been happening over there while I’ve been covered up in silks….

Hello-o-o-o-o-o

About Mary Beth

I am fascinated by changing patterns and colored threads. I sew garments and am teaching myself to machine knit. Since selling the building that housed my workrooms, The Stitchery, I'm searching for a place to set up the knitting machines again. There must be room here somewhere!

4 responses »

  1. Mary Beth – I have a sign on the wall of my sewing room. One side says COUTURE in beautifil, tastefull lettering. The other side says COSTUME in scary Halloween lettering. What side I have showing depends on the project, my deadline and exactly the things you mention in your post! It helps keep my sewing sane :o)

    Reply
  2. I’m dying to see pictures! Even with your self critique of all the things you didn’t get to, I’ll bet you were the belle of the ball.

    Reply
  3. MB I’m just catching up and I must say, You looked mahvelous! The coat, the dress – all perfect.

    Reply
  4. Hmmm. Must have been an interesting evening. I just have to say, Phyllis has totally cracked me up with her sign. I might have to make a similar one.

    Reply

So, What Do You Think?

